Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Site HQ > Site and Forum Comments & Issues

Site and Forum Comments & Issues Comments? Suggestions? Out-right flames? Found a bug? Feel free to post about it here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2011, 09:39 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default Problem with the TG logo in Firefox 4 RC?

Hi all:

On my PC, our site's logo doesn't look quite right in Firefox 4 RC, while it did look fine during the betas. I am not sure if it's just me or not, because while the logo is off on a Windows machine here, it's just fine on a Linux machine, also with the RC.

If anyone is using Firefox 4 RC and is able to take a look at our logo and see if it looks a bit off, please do and let me know!

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:58 AM   #2
DarkStarr
Tech Monkey
 
DarkStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 634
Default

Using RC1 and it looks fine for me, dunno, maybe you have a weird setting enabled or disabled.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k (4.8 @ 100x48) Watercooled - 16GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T
8GB
Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Asus Radeon 7970 Ref. (Non Ghz)
Heatkiller 79xx Ni-Bl (Soon) @ 1050/1500
- 64Gb Crucial M4 SSD - 3x Hitachi 1Tb - Corsair TX950W
Azza Genesis 9000B - 2x Samsung SyncMaster S27A550H - Vizio 32" LCD

DarkStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:10 AM   #3
Optix
Basket Chassis
 
Optix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,679
Default

I think Stork found the same thing in chat last night - everything looked peachy.
__________________

Intel i5 3570K, MSI Z77Z-GD55, 4x2GB Kingston Genesis 2133mhz, 120GB Mushkin Chronos SSD, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue, Intel 210 cache drive, MSI 7850 Power Edition OC, Corsair H100, Silverstone Strider 750w Gold, Killer2100 NIC, Corsair 600T SE White, LG W2242, ROCCAT Kone+, Isku & Kave, 3TB Seagate Backup+, 200GB Western Digital Scorpio Black external drive


Optix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 06:09 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

What's bizarre is that I used to have a similar issue a long time ago, but I forget what browser it was with. What I do remember is that I had the problem remain after a format, so color me confused.

If it does just happen to be me, then great. No one else has been able to duplicate it so far.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:16 AM   #5
Misha
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Rob, I just checked you logo, it's PNG, there are no any transparency, but there is something strange.
Person who design your page use some Custom Pixel Aspect Ratio, which is often used for video projects.
That information is obviously embedded in PNG file, because Photoshop recognise and offer me to correct that...
Not sure if that can have any connection... but... it may have... i will send you same png but without any embeded information...
Misha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:25 AM   #6
Misha
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Oh, and Firefox can read color profiles, so if your logo have some strange color profile embeded, then FF can wrongly interpret colors... But i just check and photoshop ask for color profile when i'm loading your file...
Misha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:55 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Thanks for the send and the information, man!

I am going to hold off on using it until someone else complains about it being an issue though, because it seems like I'm the lone soul here. I almost hate to even suggest such a thing, but I almost wonder if it's my display causing some issue somehow (Dell 2408WFP). The reason I suggest that is I've had the exact same issue in Linux also, so it's not like it's just some Windows issue.

What I think I'll test out later is Firefox on another PC where it works fine, and then hook up my monitor to it. Common sense tells me it shouldn't be the monitor, but I can't drop it, haha.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:08 PM   #8
Misha
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Oh, yes of course.
You have wide gamut monitor and you’ll see more color than average monitor of 72% color gamut.
I have HP 2475w on the left side and HP ZR24w on the right side... there are significant difference in colour reproduction between two of them... Especially if we talk about vivid and hard to reproduce colours.. So yes, your "problem" can be connected with your Dell monitor!
Misha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:19 PM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misha View Post
So yes, your "problem" can be connected with your Dell monitor!
Well, the thing is... it'd also be related to how Firefox handles the color profiles, because I quite simply don't see that issue with another browser (except IE6, due to its poor handling of PNG).

Issues like this just shouldn't exist. If it works fine in all other browsers, I blame Firefox!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:29 PM   #10
Misha
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Mozilla Firefox is the only browser than gives us some control on how to handle untagged images and CSS elements....

Check this test with IE and FF in the same time...
http://gearoracle.com/tools/web-brow...nagement-test/
Misha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:52 AM   #11
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Tested it with a 2407WFP monitor & Firefox RC v4, page and logo both look identical in Opera and the RC build of Firefox.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 02:02 PM   #12
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misha View Post
Mozilla Firefox is the only browser than gives us some control on how to handle untagged images and CSS elements....

Check this test with IE and FF in the same time...
http://gearoracle.com/tools/web-brow...nagement-test/
That's a cool page, thanks for the linkage I never thought of color profile support in browsers before this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Tested it with a 2407WFP monitor & Firefox RC v4, page and logo both look identical in Opera and the RC build of Firefox.
It's just me then, I guess. Doesn't surprise me given I have other strange issues that creep up out of nowhere. It's just unfortunate it occurs with Firefox 4, a browser I was hoping to make a total move to. Will be redoing my OS soon thanks to an SSD upgrade, so hopefully the issue will go away after that.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple logo irony Rob Williams Off Topic 2 09-26-2012 07:48 PM
eBay Updates its Logo for First Time in 17 Years Rob Williams General Technology 4 09-14-2012 06:23 PM
Microsoft Updates Company Logo Rob Williams General Technology 8 08-26-2012 12:22 PM
Firefox 4? Old News. Get Ready for Firefox 5! Tharic-Nar General Software 3 04-07-2011 01:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.