Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Submissions > Reader-Submitted News

Reader-Submitted News Stumble on some interesting news from around the Web and want to share? This is the place!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2011, 06:10 AM   #1
GFreeman
Coastermaker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 249
Default Tweaking Windows 7

Hello all,

I found a handy document that can help you tweaking your OS by disabling services you don't really use. This has helped me making the OS response quicker You may want to leave Network list on automatic if using a pc in a network. Otherwise you won't be able to connect to other PC's. I am using my PC standalone. so that's not an issue for me.

Still my PC isn't idling the way I'd like it to be. After installing SP1 with Windows update I haven't seen it idle as nice as before. First it tried to optimize framework which showed some nuts CPU load after the first reboot. Now it's fine though.. I have uninstalled SP1 because I am not happy about that behaviour. I don't like to see CPU load happen if you don't really know what is causing it. One of the disadvantages of using Windows really..
Attached Files
File Type: zip serviceslist tweaked.zip (13.5 KB, 257 views)
__________________

AMD 64 X2 4200 @2.8Ghz (1,425v)
CNPS8700 LED CPU cooler@2,537rpm
Asus A8V deluxe (s939)
Kingston Hyperx 2GB DDR@DDR400 (2,5-3-2-6-1T)
Sapphire ATI 3850 AGP@901/2200 (1.275v)
Zalman VF700-Alcu VGA cooler@2,650rpm
CoolerMaster Truepower 550W
GFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:55 PM   #2
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

I usually turn off Tablet services, fax & modem and few other things. I'll take a peak at this I like saving mem and processing power.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 04:25 PM   #3
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 783
Default

Very nice, thanks. I tend to tweak a lot my services too, but it's mostly a hunt and peck type of activity, with many services left unchanged because I can't find good enough information about them and don't want to risk system stability. So seeing this document is definitely something very interesting that I could use as a primary source. What's the asterisks meaning though?
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:46 PM   #4
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,163
Default

A lot of the staff here use Black Viper's service listings and optimizations, it's very in-depth and well covered, though it won't cover all installs, it does cover basic installs. Worth the perusal...

http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17...onfigurations/
Tharic-Nar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:15 PM   #5
GFreeman
Coastermaker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 249
Default

Right, that's where I got this from as well. An * (asterisk) indicates changes from the default
__________________

AMD 64 X2 4200 @2.8Ghz (1,425v)
CNPS8700 LED CPU cooler@2,537rpm
Asus A8V deluxe (s939)
Kingston Hyperx 2GB DDR@DDR400 (2,5-3-2-6-1T)
Sapphire ATI 3850 AGP@901/2200 (1.275v)
Zalman VF700-Alcu VGA cooler@2,650rpm
CoolerMaster Truepower 550W
GFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:51 PM   #6
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharic-Nar View Post
A lot of the staff here use Black Viper's service listings and optimizations, it's very in-depth and well covered, though it won't cover all installs, it does cover basic installs. Worth the perusal...

http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17...onfigurations/
That's keeper! Thanks.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:25 PM   #7
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharic-Nar View Post
A lot of the staff here use Black Viper's service listings and optimizations, it's very in-depth and well covered, though it won't cover all installs, it does cover basic installs. Worth the perusal...

http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17...onfigurations/
Interesting... Thanks for the link, that one is definitely going in my bookmarks for reference!
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:26 AM   #8
Optix
Basket Chassis
 
Optix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,677
Default

I don't see any reason to tweak Windows unless someone has a slow system and needs to free up additional resources, is having a legitimate problem related to a service that they do not use or simply wants to be cooler than Microsoft and stick it to them by telling them what services they want running.

It's not like modern system (even my little budget system) needs the extra horsepowa.

/opinion
__________________

Intel i5 3570K, MSI Z77Z-GD55, 4x2GB Kingston Genesis 2133mhz, 120GB Mushkin Chronos SSD, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue, Intel 210 cache drive, MSI 7850 Power Edition OC, Corsair H100, Silverstone Strider 750w Gold, Killer2100 NIC, Corsair 600T SE White, LG W2242, ROCCAT Kone+, Isku & Kave, 3TB Seagate Backup+, 200GB Western Digital Scorpio Black external drive


Optix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:46 AM   #9
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 783
Default

I suppose it will depend on your system.

Assuming Windows 7, you will want to do this if, for instance, you are running with 3 GB of RAM or less and want to do any sort of gaming without being thrown back to the desktop because Aero starts complaining.

On my case, with 4Gb I do it because running
- MS SQL Server 2008,
- Visual Studio 2010
- A WAMP stack (apache+mysql+php+ruby) serving a local bug tracking service I make avalaible to the outside through Dynamic DNS
- Browser with any number of tabs (including always-on documentation)
- And any number of side applications that may be required

... all those simply require of me to be more judicious about my memory and CPU usage. Increasing memory is always an option, although that would move me into 64 bit Windows. But unless I took care of business with something like 8 GB, I'd still probably be optimizing my windows services.

Oh, and some of us are just control freaks too...
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 08:15 PM   #10
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig View Post
I suppose it will depend on your system.
That's an extremely good point to make.

I used to be extremely interested in tweaking Windows since Win 98se (which required it just to even work half the time) to Vista. Seven is the first version of Windows I just didn't see enough results from to bother mucking around under the hood with, as far as services are concerned.

The hassle and risk of side-effects didn't warrant the results for a high-end system. Too many experiences with future updates or some new program expecting a service to be there and running into issues when it wasn't under Vista, with no real idea what the true cause was without some digging. But that website link is handy, as I still want to know what some of these services do if I ever need to kill or restart one.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 03:34 PM   #11
2Tired2Tango
Tech Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 648
Default

Step 1 ... go into Scheduled Tasks and disable all the spyware...
__________________
Tango

"An unexamined life is not worth living" ... Socrates
2Tired2Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:08 PM   #12
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Tired2Tango View Post
Step 1 ... go into Scheduled Tasks and disable all the spyware...
Okay, I did forget I disabled some of the anonymous usage reporting in there, I had forgotten entirely about that mess. There are so many tasks set to autorun it's a wonder any single user at MS even knows what their own OS is doing.

I wonder if my OS would enter lock down and give my piracy warnings if I disabled the OS validation task it runs every 3 months?
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:31 PM   #13
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharic-Nar View Post
A lot of the staff here use Black Viper's service listings and optimizations, it's very in-depth and well covered, though it won't cover all installs, it does cover basic installs. Worth the perusal...

http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17...onfigurations/
This is one of the references I looked at when deciding which services to disable on our testing machines. I am running most of the services listed there under the tweak section as disabled on my home PC and haven't ever encountered a problem (though no other PC can now detect this one on the network).

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig
Oh, and some of us are just control freaks too...
This might be an accurate description of me. I run Gentoo Linux for a reason... I build the OS, I am not provided a pre-configured one. It means I have programs and services running that I tell it to run, not vice versa. I like that sort of control, and I love the knowledge that my PC is running as good as it can be.

I will admit that SSDs have somewhat negated the true need to disable a whack of services, but there's nothing wrong with spending a few minutes on it either way.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft to Kill "Windows Live" and "Zune" Branding with Windows 8 Rob Williams General Software 7 03-05-2012 03:24 PM
NVIDIA Releases Tweaking Guides for Trine 2 & Skyrim Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 0 12-12-2011 12:38 AM
Windows Shows Off Metro-based Store in Windows 8 Rob Williams General Software 0 12-08-2011 11:01 AM
Intel's X48 Unlocks Insane Tweaking-Abilities Rob Williams Motherboards 0 01-28-2008 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 PM.