Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Submissions > Reader-Submitted News

Reader-Submitted News Stumble on some interesting news from around the Web and want to share? This is the place!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2012, 02:28 AM   #1
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default U.S. Probes Cable for Limits on Net Video

This is a DAMN good thing. Hopefully with this they see they have been abusing their customers which will in turn force them to refund any one who has paid a single cent out of pocket because of caps and never see them again.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000...LEFTTopStories
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:06 AM   #2
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayden View Post
This is a DAMN good thing. Hopefully with this they see they have been abusing their customers which will in turn force them to refund any one who has paid a single cent out of pocket because of caps and never see them again.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000...LEFTTopStories
Wait people are paying for going over their caps Comcast doesn't seem to do that. They will cut you off after warning you a couple times over a period of months of repeated cap overages.

The main thing that eats up my stuff is when i redo a machine. Otherwise even under normal usage of 3 people Watching Youtube, HD Netflix, remote desktop. All the madness it never really hurts it. Its the 150 GB in a day of setting up a machine that does it for me.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 02:33 PM   #3
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

I know AT&T was doing it when they first started it back in 08, now I'm not sure if it's still in practice, I'm pretty sure it isn't still, I just know it has happened. Either way caps are bad for consumers, it hinders their ability to use competing services and use other services that are going more and more digital like video games.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:48 PM   #4
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

Try being stuck on an old network where the single incumbent telecoms provider won't upgrade it, then says that running the old network is expensive and jack up the prices. Due to limitations of the network too, bandwidth is at a premium, and as time goes on, more people are using it due to no alternative. Yay, 60GB bandwidth caps with no alternative.

Here in the UK, we have an open market of sorts, companies are free to install their own equipment at exchanges to provide competing services... when Openreach lets those companies install equipment and if that exchange supports the upgrades. Openreach is a solely owned subsidiary of BT. I live in that wonderful '10%' of the country that has a single service exchange. But it's a free market, so I get to pick one of 150 flavours of BT. I can pick any one I want, so long as it's BT wholesale. As a result, all the packages from all of the 150 ISPs are the same, the same prices, same packages, they just provide different stepping with prices and total bandwidth, but ultimately, all identical. It's a real open market man! I am free to choose. I can get broadband through BT wholesale... or I don't get broadband at all. It's a great choice! However, recently, an LLU upgrade has been enabled on my exchange which means I can use TalkTalk services... which is Carphone Warehouse... Who owns AOL UK... yeah, I'll leave it at AOL and let you decide which is the devil you know...

In the other '90%' of the country, Sky and Virgin are beginning to step on BT's toes by installing their own hardware, Virgin setting up its own completely independent infrastructure (via cable) too, these companies have started to bundle their own video on demand services too.

The thing is, all these companies offer 'unlimited bandwidth' with a Fair Usage Policy (FUP). What is a FUP? It's a means of throttling your connection when you use too much bandwidth on your unlimited bandwidth connection, the exact amount ranging from 'too much' to 'a lot'. But VoD services from these companies don't count.

Anyone sensing some deja vu?

I have no idea what point i was making, just looking for an excuse to vent... sorry .
__________________
PSU: Corsair 1000HX - Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI Full Tower - CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @3.8GHz - Cooler: Thermaltake FRIO - Motherboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth - Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic 1600 - GPU: 2x AMD Radeon HD 5870 - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 6Gb/s +1TB +2TB storage - Audio: ODAC + O2 Amp, ASUS Xonar DX
K/B: Corsair K90 - Mouse: ROCCAT KONE XTD - Monitor: DELL U2410 - Speakers: Corsair SP2500 - Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 - Mic: Blue Yeti USB Microphone

- I need Fiber to fix my Irregular Bandwidth Syndrome -

Last edited by Tharic-Nar; 06-14-2012 at 10:50 PM.
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK Store Wants to See an End to the 'Cable Con' Tharic-Nar General Hardware 5 07-11-2011 08:38 AM
Rogers Lowers Bandwidth Limits, Increases Overage Fees Rob Williams Off Topic 0 07-26-2010 02:34 AM
ATI All in Wonder HD Cable Card cowen Video Cards and Displays 14 06-18-2009 11:12 AM
Brando S-ATA/IDE USB Cable Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 08-14-2006 11:58 AM
Cable through my PC? Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 6 03-17-2006 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.