Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Mobile & Small Form-Factor Computing

Mobile & Small Form-Factor Computing Discuss notebooks, PDAs, Smartphones, Cell Phones and all other mobile devices here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2014, 11:33 PM   #1
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default Modified a laptop to hold my Nexus 5.

I bought a new laptop that was already ridiculous and then did something ridiculous to it. Its a Bay Trail Quad Core Celeron which while weak does play Portal. More importantly it was $230 bucks and gets 4 to 6 hours of battery life. But it has no optical drive and the space is there.

So what do I do install one and find a faceplate for this chassis. How about get an OBHD caddy and stick a hard drive in there instead. Even better lets cut up the caddy and put a phone in there instead.

Pic:


While I haven't braved say adapting the sata power to a USB dock yet. I did this for a real reason. I tether on the go with this laptop, thats the entire reason I bought it since my old gaming laptop is still more powerful. I can leave my phone in my pocket but if I walk too far it might disconnect. Normally I leave the phone in my bag to prevent this but Id like to solve both while moving around alot.

So I had 2 options. I could cut the blank that came with the laptop. One divider out of either side of the middle is just the right size for the phone. But finding a spare blank for warranty purposes would be difficult. It just so happens the phone is the same width as a 2.5" hard drive and they make such adapters for laptops.

Pics:


I need to put a screen protector on the phone to really protect it but I am use paper to cover the metal above the bay (meant as a heat sink to the drive). Next step is to smooth this out and cut down a face plate to cover up the excess left and right of the hole.

But a couple pics related to this items normal use:
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 04-13-2014 at 11:35 PM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:27 AM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Psst, those thumbnails don't click through to the larger version!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainMotorsports
It just so happens the phone is the same width as a 2.5" hard drive and they make such adapters for laptops.
That is priceless, haha. You're fortunate enough to own one that's not too thick (I think I'd have to force this Moto G + Otterbox).

How reliable has the tethering been so far, with the phone shoved into the underbelly?

Excellent idea man, and a fantastic use for what would otherwise be a useless space.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 09:57 AM   #3
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

I haven't tested it in the field but getting the same speeds on LTE as always. I did a test here at the house got 18/18 but my download regularly varies between 40 to 15 Mbps. When I am at work I can walk in the walk in freezer and while I lose LTE I still have a great HSPA signal so I think at work Ill probably be fine
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 10:39 AM   #4
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Psst, those thumbnails don't click through to the larger version!
PSST I forgot your website does that to thumbnails linked to a url!

No seriously your site turns all images into click to open in new tabs. There is no url on the main image for example but you can click on it and it opens in a new tab.

The URL for the thumbnails is 100% correct, check the hover over and the post text its - http://s1104.photobucket.com/user/Ra...8c54b.jpg.html

However when you click on it, it opens the image in a new tab rather than actually following the URL. The image is - http://i1104.photobucket.com/albums/...psd7a4c67b.jpg

The difference in the URL is /albums/ versus /user/ and the .html at the end. Clearly you have a plugin thats adding onclick="window.open(this.src)" to each image unless its a template edit which i doubt. Basically the open in new tab javascript is hijacking the link url on the image. You likely added it to allow viewing the fullsize images from articles while scaling them down to fit the article. I used to have a work around for this but i forgot what it was.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 04-14-2014 at 01:11 PM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 04:43 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

You're right, it was a plugin causing it. This plugin was used to resize images that are larger than the allowed width, so as to not break the forum template. Now, with that issue fixed, the images click correct, but those that are resized can't be.

Edit: Oh, and shared on Facebook, et al.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 09:26 PM   #6
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Well for resizing images without the plugin is simple CSS. You'd need to figure out a selector for all images within the div that contains the post. I'm on my phone so I can't get the div class and the rest is off my head so take it as an example only.

The selector would be something like .divclassname IMG {} and inside of it you would do a max-width and then probably set height to auto so that the resize keeps aspect ratio. Pretty common these days maybe not so much when VB 3.x was fresh but IE6 is dead now so no worries.

As far as writing your plugin to allow click to resize or click to open on non linked images without hijacking linked images is possible. But off the top of my head...
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 05:49 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I appreciate the help, but at this point I can't be bothered with fiddling with the forums too much. I'd almost like to move off of vBulletin at some point, because its current options don't interest me, and I think it'd just be better to go with an open-source solution, like phpBB (especially given how often the forums are used). This is something to sit on the back-burner for the time-being, though.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 07:31 PM   #8
Optix
Basket Chassis
 
Optix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,684
Default

Cool idea. It makes me want to mod my laptop, but then I remember that the higher ups would probably shit themselves when I tear apart a company asset.
__________________

Intel i5 3570K, MSI Z77Z-GD55, 4x2GB Kingston Genesis 2133mhz, 120GB Mushkin Chronos SSD, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue, Intel 210 cache drive, MSI 7850 Power Edition OC, Corsair H100, Silverstone Strider 750w Gold, Killer2100 NIC, Corsair 600T SE White, LG W2242, ROCCAT Kone+, Isku & Kave, 3TB Seagate Backup+, 200GB Western Digital Scorpio Black external drive


Optix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 09:05 PM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optix View Post
Cool idea. It makes me want to mod my laptop, but then I remember that the higher ups would probably shit themselves when I tear apart a company asset.
Haha. Yes, I couldn't imagine that going down too well.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 PM.