Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Video Cards and Displays

Video Cards and Displays AMD, NVIDIA graphics card talk, as well as monitor/HDTV discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2006, 05:04 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default DVI cable not allowing monitors full resolution...

Hey all,

I recently picked up two DVI-D / DVI-D cables, because I had the DVI-I / DVI-I cable die on me, that I use to connect my benching PC to my television.

At any rate, I received the cables today, and the PC connected to the PC works no problem, but the other one connecting to my standard 17" LCD does not. The problem is, it forces 1024 * 768 even though 1280*1024 is the monitors native resolution.

So, when I choose 1280, the entire screen goes blank and I have to wait for the video driver to reset itself. Is there any reason for this? The monitor supports digital output (or so I thought), but it seems the lack of the analog pins is forcing the wrong resolution.

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 01:22 PM   #2
madstork91
The One, The Only...
 
madstork91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 1,434
Default

A solution to this might actually help me... the default resolution for my monitor/tv is that 1028x700 something crap... so everytime i install or run something new i have to change it manually. Sometimes i get the same error. So im stuck in an unwanted high def setting.

I just gave up on finding a solution when i googled to no avail, but if someone knows something... you would win a free @ sign designated as a cookie. Maybe more than one ;-)
__________________
..
madstork91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 11:41 AM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Yeah, it's rather annoying. I am glad the cable works for my TV no problem, but I bought two so that I could use it on my main rig.

Your problem sounds similar though... Check your cable to see if it's a DVI-I or DVI-D. DVI-I is probably -not- what it is... it in addition to the regular pins, has the little notch, and then four pins around it. DVI-D doesn't have those additional pins, which is used for Analog only.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1366x768 Surpasses 1024x768 As Most-Used Resolution on Web Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 5 04-19-2012 06:32 PM
The Future Of Our TVs: 4K Resolution? Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 7 08-03-2011 10:12 AM
ATI x1600 resolution in Sabayon Linux. moon111 Video Cards and Displays 3 03-08-2009 06:52 PM
Two Monitors Are Better Than One Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 0 09-28-2008 11:57 PM
Just How Impressive is the RED Epic's Resolution? Rob Williams Off Topic 4 04-16-2008 02:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.