Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2005, 09:01 PM   #76
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

I personally never used anything but Small FFT's. If you can pass that for 24 hours, you are golden. Blend mode may be used specifically to stress test weaknesses in memory, which you will likely not have.

You could custom it if you are really ambitious, but I am not even sure if that would be much different than Small FFT's. I could be wrong..
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 12:03 PM   #77
abracadabra
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Default

well ive done all types of prime95 an passes 24 hrs with all of he, my games run fine too. I do however have stuttering about three times when playing a divx movie, soemtimes i have to copletly restart the movie. it does it on any movie and doesnt do it when the system is not overclocked. Its definitly related to the overclock. Im confused now because i thought my system was stable!. Hope you can help me with this one rob,thanks. Perhaps this should be posted somewhere else.
__________________
AMD winchester 3200 @2.55ghz 1V325+110%
Crucial Ballistix pc3200 @2.5-2-2-5 1T 3V0 ddr510
DFI LanParty Ultra-D
X850XT PE
250GB Diamondmax 10

Last edited by abracadabra; 09-05-2005 at 12:24 PM.
abracadabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 12:23 PM   #78
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

There are some things that just don't like overclocking.. and I have wierd issues like that as well.

I remember when Unreal Tournament first came out.. my system was very overclocked, and rock stable. However, every once and a while, the game would just close on me for no apparent reason. After digging further, I discovered it was a common issue, because the game's fussy when it comes to overclocking.

I knew it was not because of an unstable overclock, because every single other game and app worked fantastic.

I possibly have another wierd quirk due to overclocking as well. Every so often when I open Winamp, all my settings are reset. I never actually took the time to figure out if it's due to overclocking, because I never use stock, but it could be.

So, to be honest, if you want to watch movies, I'd just revert the OC, or possibly try a different player.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 12:29 PM   #79
abracadabra
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Default

I see. Thats a bummer for me, i was hopeing everything would be dead stable. I might just splash out on an expensive cpu and a more stable motherboard. seems a shame really.
__________________
AMD winchester 3200 @2.55ghz 1V325+110%
Crucial Ballistix pc3200 @2.5-2-2-5 1T 3V0 ddr510
DFI LanParty Ultra-D
X850XT PE
250GB Diamondmax 10
abracadabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 01:08 PM   #80
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Naw man, I wouldn't upgrade if you don't really need to. Once you overclock, you will always overclock, no matter which CPU you have :P

Did you try a different media player? My similar CPU is overclocked as well, and I have no issues with skipping. I use Windows Media Player for videos and WinDVD for DVD's, obviously.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 01:36 PM   #81
abracadabra
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Default

True i think i would try oc it anyway lol. yyeah i tried divx and medai player which made me think it was the divx codec at first. I guess ill have to watch a bunch of movies with the system stock and hope it pauses and starts aswell
__________________
AMD winchester 3200 @2.55ghz 1V325+110%
Crucial Ballistix pc3200 @2.5-2-2-5 1T 3V0 ddr510
DFI LanParty Ultra-D
X850XT PE
250GB Diamondmax 10
abracadabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 03:15 PM   #82
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Did you try re-installing the Divx Codec? Or see if there is a new version available?

It could also be your video drivers.. I've seen that happen before.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 07:11 AM   #83
abracadabra
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Well im cying about nothing. I defragmented my two paartitions and now my movies play smoother than ever ( im used to linux ). I am really apprechiating your help rob. I do however get a bios beep at the login screen when i boot up sometimes. I ve checked codes but one beep for pheonix bios doesnt exist!
__________________
AMD winchester 3200 @2.55ghz 1V325+110%
Crucial Ballistix pc3200 @2.5-2-2-5 1T 3V0 ddr510
DFI LanParty Ultra-D
X850XT PE
250GB Diamondmax 10
abracadabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 11:03 AM   #84
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

My BIOS beeps everytime at startup. That is nothing to worry about.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 05:47 PM   #85
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

You guys are nuts! I never plug my PC speaker in

Mine would beep at start up as well though, definitely nothing to worry about. It's just letting you know that you made your computer through POST.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 07:35 PM   #86
abracadabra
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Well not a crash yet! Although 1 in 6 boot ups of the machine take a long time, my hdd stops for a few minsa then starts again!.

I have a question about RAM if anyone can help me.

I would like to add more RAM to my machine. I currently have 2x512 in dual channel. Can i add 2x1024 to make 3GB of RAM and still keep ddr500 and same timings (assuming i buy more ballistix that is)?
__________________
AMD winchester 3200 @2.55ghz 1V325+110%
Crucial Ballistix pc3200 @2.5-2-2-5 1T 3V0 ddr510
DFI LanParty Ultra-D
X850XT PE
250GB Diamondmax 10
abracadabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 07:45 PM   #87
Blumen
Coastermaker
 
Blumen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Hate to dig up a dead thread, but here's a question:

I have Ballistix pc4000 running on my NF7-S at 10x200. I can boot into windows at 9x222 no problems, but at 2.5-4-4-9, only. I was expecting a bit higher fsb window than that... Is there any known problems with NF2 boards and not liking fsbs higher than 220? I'm trying to look for modded bios, one that may help for higher fsb. I'm shooting for 10x250, i know it can hit the overall clock speed of that already. (13x200)
__________________
Replacement coming soon...

Mobile Barton 2400+ 35w IQYHA
Abit NF7-S
Thermalright SI-97a
Blumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 09:46 AM   #88
(cf)Eclipse
Micron Lover
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Default

drop the memory divider a notch or two to see where the FSB tops out on your mobo. i was able to get 235mhz (mobo limit) at 2.5-2-2 with my pc3200 ballistix.
__________________
Owner of EclipseOC

In the overclocking game he who tries the most things wins
(cf)Eclipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #89
Blumen
Coastermaker
 
Blumen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Thanks a lot. I'm going to do a lot more research and beating on this rig tomorrow, it's my day off, so i'll let you guys know how it goes. I know people have had this mobo at 10x250, so the mobo limit isn't really an issue... it's just getting it to like running those clocks.
__________________
Replacement coming soon...

Mobile Barton 2400+ 35w IQYHA
Abit NF7-S
Thermalright SI-97a
Blumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 12:21 PM   #90
avidgamer
Obliviot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Settings for DFI UT SLI-D Motherboard?

Hi all,

I've been reading the posts and I've had a similar issue with my ram and a DFI motherboard. I spent almost 6 hours trying to configure the crusial ballistix RAM to work with this MB.

I managed to get it stable after some time, but what I would really like to know is what are the 'ideal' settings for my system.

Here is what I have.

1gb of crucial ballistix 3200 RAM.
DFI nf4 UT SLI-D motherboard
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ Dual Core CPU
BFG 7900 GTX 512MB Video
Ultra X2-Connect 550W PSU

I can't seem to find stable settings above 200MHz ram speeds. And the bios for this motherboard is very complicated....

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!
avidgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crucial PC3200 2GB Kit Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 10 08-22-2008 03:48 AM
OCZ or CRUCIAL Ballistix Void Storage Devices and Memory 15 04-01-2008 03:48 PM
Crucial Ballistix 2GB PC2-6400 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 09-22-2006 12:04 AM
Crucial Ballistix PC4000 (DDR500) 1GB Kit Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 09-17-2006 05:49 AM
//SOLD!!//Brand New CORSAIR XMS XPERT SERIES 2 x 512MB DDR400 PC3200//SOLD!!// Sledgehammer70 For Sale & Trade 0 03-02-2006 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 PM.