Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2007, 01:13 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950

If you are looking for a portable WinTV solution from Happauge, you are in luck. The HVR-950 is capable of handling both normal and high-def TV and fits in a pocket! The largest draw might just be it's $90 price tag.

You can read the review and then discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 10:04 AM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The software supplied with the 950 is the same that Hauppauge has been bundling with their TV tuner cards for years. It hasn't been updated to display hidef at the correct 16:9 aspect ratio. It defaults to the 4:3 of standard def TV and you must "eyeball" 16:9 by dragging one corner of the display window. I give the 950 itself an "8", but the supplied tuner software a "2" (and that's being generous.) The 950 may work with other tuner software which handles 4:3 and 16:9 correctly, but this is an additional expense.

Plextor just came out with a USB stick digital TV tuner, perhaps their software is better.

I went with a DVICO FusionHDTV5 USB device and the software supplied with it is light-years beyond that of the Hauppauge. It also comes with a full-function remote and analog audio and video inputs.

http://www.fusionhdtv.co.kr/eng/Products/HDTV5usb.aspx

John Cline
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 10:30 AM   #3
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

This isn't something that I addressed in the review, obviously, but thank you for pointing this out. That product you linked to looks interesting and would make a nice review. Thanks!
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 10:32 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not on my cd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
The software supplied with the 950 is the same that Hauppauge has been bundling with their TV tuner cards for years. It hasn't been updated to display hidef at the correct 16:9 aspect ratio. It defaults to the 4:3 of standard def TV and you must "eyeball" 16:9 by dragging one corner of the display window. I give the 950 itself an "8", but the supplied tuner software a "2" (and that's being generous.) The 950 may work with other tuner software which handles 4:3 and 16:9 correctly, but this is an additional expense.

Plextor just came out with a USB stick digital TV tuner, perhaps their software is better.

I went with a DVICO FusionHDTV5 USB device and the software supplied with it is light-years beyond that of the Hauppauge. It also comes with a full-function remote and analog audio and video inputs.

http://www.fusionhdtv.co.kr/eng/Products/HDTV5usb.aspx

John Cline
I purchased and installed it on Tuesday. I was offered a choice of 4:3 or 16:9 display to be my standard.
On my 17" Dell Laptop, it shows High Definition in wide format with no problem. Check on their website to download latest version of softwarde
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:22 PM   #5
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I believe the mini usb is for the optional A/V cable set which allows you to have S-video and composite in. And if you look, there should be a red bulb which I'm sure is for the optional remote.

They are sold at the Hauppauge web store.

I agree the software is pretty bad. I use GBPVR to record and WatchHDTV to watch the files.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:06 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Question Antecedent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I purchased and installed it on Tuesday. I was offered a choice of 4:3 or 16:9 display to be my standard.
On my 17" Dell Laptop, it shows High Definition in wide format with no problem. Check on their website to download latest version of softwarde
You say you "installed it" on Tuesday. You installed which tuner, the Fusion tuner or the Hauppauge?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 12:34 PM   #7
Gis Bun
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Misleading product

Anyone noticed that any analog output [i.e. from cable] will have the audio only in mono. That's right. No stereo unless you are using ATSC. The Hauppauge web site fails to mention this anywhere on the website [not in any brochure or product page] except in a FAQ. In this day and age, why would anyone watch TV in mono?

The ATSC is quite good, if you have a clear connection. If you aren't on the top floor of an apartment building, forget it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 07:59 PM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default compression

I have the Hauppauge WINTV-HVR-950 TV STICK USB HYBRID NTSC on my Gateway T-series. The compression rate is terrible.

One hour of TV is at min 1gb. When I WinTV on my desktop from three years ago the compression was much better, one hour of TV was at max 500mb, nearly half what this device has.

I have played with the setting until I went crazy.... nothing really makes a dent...

Can you guys tell me what you believe is the better settings for the Smallest recorded TV size? does this make sense.

(I have mine set to 0mb pause buffer with MPG quality)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 09:14 PM   #9
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

The only ATI product that I would get is the all in one TV Wonder
I didn't play with any settings and get a great image, even better when recording hi def
I'm just wondering if it's some setting that you changed.

Maybe delete it and start over using factory defaults?

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 07:41 AM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks Merlin, I gave the defaults a try but the recorded tv too large...nearly 3gb for one of tv.

If I remember right, I paid 150.00 for the PCI desktop internal version... if must have come with some sort of internal compression device.. and this cheap ecternal one does not.

Everything else is great though...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 05:38 PM   #11
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Have you tried, going ahead and recording with the large file, then converting to DIVX?
You still get a good image and a smaller file on the drive


Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 01:40 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Recording xbox 360 with wintv-hvr 950

I recently purchased the wintv-hvr 950. I was able to get the tv part of it set up (i.e. channels and recording). However when I tried to set it up to composite and S-video (seperate tries) in order to watch and record my xbox 360 I can't get it to work. Anyone know how to connect the wintv-hvr 950 to an xbox 360?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

you can email me at [email protected]

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:14 AM   #13
Shawman024
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation YEAH

I second that... does the hauppauge wintv-hvr 950 work well as an intermediary between the xbox 360 and your laptop for a mobile xbox 360 experience? The Adaptek Gamebridge is designed for this purpose but has been discontinued and costs up to $100 from Amazon. My only other option is an external usb tv tuner. Has anyone heard results of such a trial with this product? I'm quite certain it will work. I'm just curious as to whether it's laggy or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:57 AM   #14
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Scott and Shawman...

We can ask Hauppauge about this but I do not have a clear answer for you right now. The unit was reviewed and send to another person on staff here at Techgage so I can't plug it in and test it out. That said, check back in a day or so and I will hopefully have an answer for you.

Thanks for stopping by.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 06:09 PM   #15
cody rozell
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default greatly appreciated

i also just bought the winTV-HVR-950 and i am trying to get my xbox 360 to run through it. i want to record videos from my halo 3 games and i cant figure out how to get it on there. i have heard that other people use it for the same purpose i am looking for but i cannot get any information on how to do it. if you know how please post it or send any information to [email protected]
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350 madmat Reviews and Articles 2 05-03-2006 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.