Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

View Poll Results: Would you upgrade your PC for a new Windows?
Yes 1 11.11%
No 5 55.56%
Possibly.. 3 33.33%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2005, 06:15 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default Would you upgrade your PC for an operating system?

You can refer to this news posting.

If this proves true, then the next version of Windows will require a 256MB GPU, and 2GB of DDR3 (Which is not even out yet) memory. Meaning no matter how great your computer is now, they recommend you'd need DDR3, which means a motherboard and memory upgrade.

I've upgraded a few times in the past for games, but never an OS. Would you upgrade your computer, only to experience the new OS to the fullest potential?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 09:25 PM   #2
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

Unless the new Microsoft OS (I speak of it in vague terms because the name Vista is really gay) does my laundry, I am not upgrading for it. Now, the jump that XP was above ME and 98SE, yes, I might consider it but I am more than happy with XP Pro and that aint changing!
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 12:36 AM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

I don't know. Maybe I'm a tech whore.. but I think I would. It really depends on what the OS can do. If I lost a lot of functionality due to not having the right hardware, I would likely upgrade.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 07:29 PM   #4
Ben
Site Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 119
Default

No, I wouldn't and I'll tell you why. The only reason I would upgrade is for games, and no gaming company would dare not support XP for at least a few years in Vista.

My gaming withdrawals are satisfied nicely with a little bit of The Oregon trail for the Macintosh. Nothing beats The Oregon Trail.
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 07:33 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orbit
My gaming withdrawals are satisfied nicely with a little bit of The Oregon trail for the Macintosh. Nothing beats The Oregon Trail.
Haha! Classic.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 01:48 PM   #6
Bobbythecat
E.M.I.
 
Bobbythecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sacramento for now...
Posts: 78
Default

There's always a chance that the guy was simply out of his mind...
I suppose Microsoft would be able to sell these OS bundled with a new system, but that system would also be hardcore, price-wise. If an Alienware clone could be built by oneself for a substantially lower prise, then I wonder what will happen with the DDR3 systems...

In any case, anything would run well in a hardcore system...Might as well say that an act by God will make the computer run the Vista best. We don't need to hear maximum requirements (that are concievable).
__________________
Attorney #1: I stepped on a baby bird this morning on the way into the courthouse.
Attorney #2: The jokes are right. We don't have souls.


"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do."
~ Mark Twain. Many may say something like it, but few act upon it. Woe unto them.
Bobbythecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 10:11 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Ok, this was actually clarified, and I forgot to update the thread. The guy who made those speculations ended up taking them back, stating that they would only be the 'hardcore' setup and will not be required for Vista.

Thank god.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 04:53 PM   #8
Blumen
Coastermaker
 
Blumen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

I would, but again, only depending on what else it would do.

I really could care less about how it would look, which i think is where the 256mb gpu thing is going. If it's more powerful, and required DDR3, then yeah, i might go there. But production isn't going to be helped by making it look pretty.

'Course... this should all be taken with a grain of salt, as i'm still on Socket A, baby.
__________________
Replacement coming soon...

Mobile Barton 2400+ 35w IQYHA
Abit NF7-S
Thermalright SI-97a
Blumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 05:37 PM   #9
Clarence
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A place
Posts: 31
Default

I basically did, my old computer couldn't handle anything over Windows 98, so I just decided to get a whole new one. I won't upgrade again unless my current operating system gets so out of date I can't do anythign with it.
Clarence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 08:24 PM   #10
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Haha...

That's bad
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:36 PM   #11
Word.
E.M.I.
 
Word.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Talking Does it wash

I'd buy a whole new PC if the new OS would let me play games AND wash my dishes a the same time ALONG with maybe scratch my arse for me also? LOL
__________________
Word.
Word. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 12:01 AM   #12
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

No, I'm happy with XP and I'm not going to shell out for a whole new pc (the case will likely need to be BTX by then) just to run a new OS, that's just insane.

Heck, I'd like to try a 7800 but I'm not dumping my AGP rig just to do it, it's got plenty of life left in it and until it's too slow to do anything I'm hanging onto it.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:37 AM   #13
SgtSethiol
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Personally, I think that if some of the requirements that M$ is saying will be the standard for the new OS are crap. With that off my chest, I think that most of us will have already upgraded to something really close to what the OS is required. IF M$ does come out and say that you have to have hardware thats just that freaking brand new there will be plenty of ppl buying brand new systems just so they can have the new OS. I remember when XP came out and the huge buying of new systems just to be able to use XP.

Depending on when vista(?) comes out and where I am in my life at that time, will determine if I go out and buy a new system just for the OS. It seems to me that M$ will only make those requirements if hardware sales are lower then expected, just to make sure ppl buy the hardware. DAMN WHOREs

please excuse my ramblings I just woke up and its 5:30 in the morning.
__________________
AMD Venice 3000+ @ 1.94GHz/ 216Mhz , Asus A8N SLI 512MB (2*1024) OCZ Performance, eVGA 7800GTCO (495/1.20) WD 200GB, WD 80GB, Pioneer AV109 DVD+RW, Toshiba DVD, SB Audigy
SgtSethiol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 04:46 PM   #14
CoolZone
E.M.I.
 
CoolZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Default

i will upgrade if i see it does worth it,for vista only
CoolZone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade or not for my Memory system Jemmtin Storage Devices and Memory 2 07-29-2013 05:19 PM
10 Operating Systems We'll Never Forget Rob Williams General Software 4 03-31-2009 11:18 PM
What else to upgrade? vacuumtube General Hardware 8 04-12-2008 05:30 AM
Server Upgrade Rob Williams Site and Forum Comments & Issues 6 12-29-2006 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 PM.