Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Video Cards and Displays

Video Cards and Displays AMD, NVIDIA graphics card talk, as well as monitor/HDTV discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2008, 10:41 PM   #1
Zaza
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default Component Cables (PC to TV) not working

My 8800GTS has a TV out connection and I have a cable that hooks in that has the options of S-Video, Composite, and Component. I want to use the component connector because of the image quality, but when I hook it up to my TV I get a whole bunch of random colors and no screen. The composite connection works, so I'm not sure what the problem is. Anybody care to help?
Zaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:10 PM   #2
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

I had that also, it was bad cable because I tried a different set...well.....that may be your problem.....check and see.
You also can use your DVI out on card into an HDMI port on TV with an adapter....actually thats what I'm using now...the adapter was cheaper than another set of cables

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:16 PM   #3
Zaza
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

HDMI would be ideal, but my TV only operates at standard definition. I agree it could be the cables (I kind of ghetto rigged this whole thing) but i connected one of the cables to my PS2 (which uses component) and it worked fine.
Zaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:28 PM   #4
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Then maybe the adapter that the cables plug into for the card...they dont actually give you quality on that adapter
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 12:01 AM   #5
Zaza
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I've tried a different adapter with similar results.
Zaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 06:29 AM   #6
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Only other thing is the resolution matching, settings to TV
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 05:06 PM   #7
Zaza
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Well would it make a difference from the composite? Because that works.
Zaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-DisplayPort to HDMI Cables Could Be Recalled Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 1 07-11-2011 03:54 AM
Nothing's working??? Relayer General Hardware 9 12-21-2008 04:29 AM
Do Monster Cables Actually Serve a Purpose? Rob Williams General Hardware 4 09-10-2008 01:22 AM
Are $7,250 Cables Better Than $80 Cables? Rob Williams Audio 0 10-01-2007 02:19 PM
General Component Vendors Will Nave General Hardware 4 03-31-2005 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.