Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2008, 01:54 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Palit GeForce 8600GT Super+1GB

Palit is a relative newcomer to the GPU market in North America, but we are sure to see more of them as months pass. Our first look at a Palit card is courtesy of the 8600GT "Super+1GB". Though equipped with loads of memory, we found that it added little benefit over our 256MB competitor.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:20 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Problems......

Hello!
I have a palti 8600 gt 1gb ddr2.
My monitor is samsung 19'(syncmaster)
when i put the monitor to work onon 75hz,i have noticed that the letters are oscillating in windows&games also.i turn back in 60hz its ok.
wht should i do?
Maybe the problem is in the power???(it needs more??)
or directx???
or the mother board???
amd 5000+ balck edeition 4gb ram,blablabla.
please send me on: [email protected]
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 07:23 PM   #3
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hello!
I have a palti 8600 gt 1gb ddr2.
My monitor is samsung 19'(syncmaster)
when i put the monitor to work onon 75hz,i have noticed that the letters are oscillating in windows&games also.i turn back in 60hz its ok.
wht should i do?
Maybe the problem is in the power???(it needs more??)
or directx???
or the mother board???
amd 5000+ balck edeition 4gb ram,blablabla.
please send me on: [email protected]
I dont think your monitor can handle that frame rate

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:18 PM   #4
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

What Merlin said, your monitor likely isn't designed to operate with a 75Hz refresh rate. The vast majority of LCDs only operate at 60Hz.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:25 AM   #5
Unregistered- james
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default overclocking

i have just recently bought a Palit GeForce 8600GT Super+1GB and received the VDOTool with it,
can anyone tell me what the Core clock setting, memory clock settings and shader clock settings do. i think they are for overclocking, if so how much can i overclock each setting too for betta performace and for the card to still remain stable.

Also i had a geforce 6600gt 128 mg (my old Card), can u tell me whether the new card this is alot betta, than the 6600gt, or they are similar in performance

cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:57 AM   #6
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered- james View Post
i have just recently bought a Palit GeForce 8600GT Super+1GB and received the VDOTool with it,
can anyone tell me what the Core clock setting, memory clock settings and shader clock settings do. i think they are for overclocking, if so how much can i overclock each setting too for betta performace and for the card to still remain stable.

Also i had a geforce 6600gt 128 mg (my old Card), can u tell me whether the new card this is alot betta, than the 6600gt, or they are similar in performance

cheers
The new one is betta
Did you research anything?

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 09:36 AM   #7
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

There isn't any magic number James, you would have to do testing on your own to see if the card is stable as you overclock it. You need to be very familiar with what you are doing before overclocking anything.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 03:51 AM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
There isn't any magic number James, you would have to do testing on your own to see if the card is stable as you overclock it. You need to be very familiar with what you are doing before overclocking anything.
yeah cheers,

What sort of factors contribute when overclocking, eg hardware specs like RAM OR processor, are the Core clock, Memory Clock and Shaderclock settings for overclocking?

If so i have put the Values up to 690MHz, 480MHz and 1513Mhz, and Used VDOtool to test, I have also used the Stability test in NVIDIA control panel to see

My Specs are
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9
2.50GB Of DDR Ram
Palit GeForce 8600GT Super+1GB

Xp Professional SP3
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:39 AM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i really only asked whether this videocard was betta, due to not seeing much improvement atm, compared with my old one
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:21 PM   #10
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

As long as you have a power supply that can supply the extra power overclocking needs, system components don't really make much of a difference for GPU overclocking.

The stability test in NVIDIA's control panel will not detect errors from an overclock... although it can make the system crash if the GPU is extremely unstable. Use ATI Tool to scan for artifacts to check for stability... don't use it to overclock though.

8600GT is certainly better than a 6600GT, but it's still a budget card. The card isn't powerful enough to use 1GB of RAM.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 10:00 PM   #11
Krazy K
Partition Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Awesomeville, Mn
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
8600GT is certainly better than a 6600GT, but it's still a budget card. The card isn't powerful enough to use 1GB of RAM.
Aye, I wish I never bought my 8600. I should have spent the little bit extra and got some version of the 8800. But I usually buy one level down in price and this time it's about 10 levels down in performance.
__________________
Asus M2N32-SLi Deluxe, AMD 9950 @ 2.9 GHz, Corsair 2x2GB 1066 DDR2, BFG 9800GX2, Caviar SE16 4x640 RAID 5, Raptor 150GB, PC P&C 750 Quadin a Cosmos 1000.
Antec Skeleton AMD 4200+ 2x1gb 3xBFG 9800GX2
Krazy K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Palit GeForce GTX 280 1GB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 18 09-14-2008 01:59 AM
Palit GeForce 9600GSO Sonic 768MB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 06-01-2008 12:20 AM
Palit GeForce 8800GT Super+1GB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 12 05-27-2008 08:50 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT Out in the Wild, Doubles Performance of 8600GT Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 0 01-22-2008 12:23 PM
Considering GeForce 8600GT 256MB Megapixel86 Video Cards and Displays 4 06-19-2007 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.