Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Motherboards

Motherboards Discussion of motherboards of all form-factors and their chipsets should be discussed about here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2005, 03:07 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default LANPARTY UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert

Where in the world did this motherboard come from? I attached a picture that shows the old school Ultra-D beside this Expert board, and the differences are quickly evident.

First off, they removed the 6 large tabs in between the dual PCI-E ports.. which is odd. SLi may be the only option in the motherboard now. What's strange though, is that apparently you don't need the SLi bridge at ALL, because there is no way that it could stretch between those two ports now.

Some other minor differences I can see is that the Expert has "True stereo line inputs", whereas the Ultra-D and SLi-DR do not. That's like a small difference that not many will notice. But then we see the Expert has EIGHT S-ATA ports! That would allow someone to have a huge RAID setup or JBOD's. One of my favorite additions, is the extra PCI slot. Not that PCI is that common anymore, two just may not cut it for those who have three cards.

The largest difference on this board though would have to be the new Genie BIOS, which has even more options for the more hardcore overclocker. And look at the DIMM slots! Man, that would make it so easy to cool your memory. Just clip a 120mm to your PSU and you are good to go.

Hmm.. I really want to get a hold of one of these..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	slidr_expert.jpg
Views:	508
Size:	471.0 KB
ID:	15  
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.



Last edited by Rob Williams; 11-12-2005 at 03:10 PM.
Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 07:47 PM   #2
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

Where are all of the power sockets? No 4-pin, no 4-pin molex and no floppy power connector. Whats up with that?
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 08:52 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

I see the four-pin floppy connector on the board, but not the other ones. That is a good question..
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 08:52 PM   #4
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

There's a black 8 pin plug right beside the 24 pin. Hard to see at first glance. Do you have any performance specs on that board yet? I'd love to see how the new revision implemented the SLi with that much distance between it. The new bios will really be able to push the limits on performance. Cool~
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 08:56 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Oh yeah, that 8-Pin must replace those two.

The only performance reports to be found are here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 09:45 PM   #6
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

It's no further apart than the ASUS SLI mobo and they have the SLI widget that connects the cards for it.

As to the SLI bridge on the board itself it's quite possible it's done in the bios now since there was talk about implementing mobo's without a physical bridge.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 10:01 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Yes, true.

I want this damn board. Looks like I need to beg DFI.

/e gets out fake tears.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 07:12 PM   #8
Bobbythecat
E.M.I.
 
Bobbythecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sacramento for now...
Posts: 78
Cool

Yeah somewhere in the forum I ranted about how sucky my current board is, and that I will switch to this one, once it's out and once I'm back from Tokyo! Of course, if there's anything more interesting selling downtown, I just might pick that one up instead, although hardcore enthusiast boards start out costing around or *WAY* over $300. I remember an ASUS board going for about $450 once..
__________________
Attorney #1: I stepped on a baby bird this morning on the way into the courthouse.
Attorney #2: The jokes are right. We don't have souls.


"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do."
~ Mark Twain. Many may say something like it, but few act upon it. Woe unto them.
Bobbythecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 03:29 AM   #9
Buck-O
Coastermaker
 
Buck-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmat
It's no further apart than the ASUS SLI mobo and they have the SLI widget that connects the cards for it.

As to the SLI bridge on the board itself it's quite possible it's done in the bios now since there was talk about implementing mobo's without a physical bridge.
From here...

http://us.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_prod...D=3872&SITE=US


LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert exclusive features
  • AMD socket939 Athlon FX55+ & Athlon X2 CPU supported
  • Software control SLI switch
  • Karajan Audio(Theater like7.1/8ch Audio)
  • Dual Gigabit LAN
  • Magnetic-levitate fan on chipset heatsink
  • 4 x Serial ATA-2(3Gb/s)
  • 100% Japanese Capacitors/ 4 phase PWM
  • UV sensitive slots
  • EZ-on / EZ-touch onboard switch button
  • Silicon image3114~RAID5 ready
  • nVIDIA nTune(embedded overclocking solution)
  • nVIDIA ActiveArmor
    (Embedded hardware firewall & network solution)
  • CMOS reloaded®
  • All New Genie BIOS for extreme overclocking!

As for the SLI bridge. I imagine they will just ship a custom one with the motherboard. Other companies have done so, why not DFI?

I also think they switched the boards layout around in direct responce to some fitment issues that alot of people had in cases. Especially aluminum ones with cross braces that where running a large aftermarket HSF.

Id be curious to see how this board stacks up. Im sure the performance will be great...provided it doesnt have "issues".

I really like DFI, and they have come along way in a short time. But they still cant come close to holding a candle to the quality and realiability of Asus or Abit. And i HOPE they can turn that around with this board.

Last edited by Buck-O; 11-14-2005 at 03:35 AM.
Buck-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 09:36 AM   #10
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Well since I've killed two Ultra-D's, I can back up your statement there about reliability. However, those were really my fault.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 01:09 PM   #11
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

Yeah, coming after 'em with a butcher's knife usually ain't considered good for 'em.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #12
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136165

See if you can round up one of those for testing Rob! No SATA 2 which is a shame. You might be able to wrangle 2 Crossfire enabled cards to test with as well.
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 11:15 AM   #13
Bobbythecat
E.M.I.
 
Bobbythecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sacramento for now...
Posts: 78
Smile

I have this board now. I had a kit of PDP Patriot DDR600 running on it for a week or two, but heh, wouldn't boot beyond the 250FSB with the divider ratio of 1:1 and relaxed timings. Then the sticks became unresponsive. Now I have my 1GB backup ValueRam from I forgot where running fine at the default speed of 200FSB 3-5-5-8 T1....I am having the feeling that the PDP were actually bad, as they didn't work well on my last eVGA mobo as well, and on that one no matter what FSB, didn't go too high without errors with that MemTest. So sad, but soon a pair of Corsair DDR400 CMX512-3200XL as replacements...and perhaps they will do better. And this might be the last upgrade before the AM2 socket CPUs and mobos and DDR2 are available for AMD.......provided that they are any good!
__________________
Attorney #1: I stepped on a baby bird this morning on the way into the courthouse.
Attorney #2: The jokes are right. We don't have souls.


"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do."
~ Mark Twain. Many may say something like it, but few act upon it. Woe unto them.
Bobbythecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5E VS GA-EX-38-DS4 VS IX38 QUADGT SPEEDSTER VS LANPARTY DK X38-T2R Caitto Motherboards 6 05-26-2008 01:00 AM
DFI LanParty ICFX3200-T2R/G Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 05-17-2007 09:44 AM
DFI LanParty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 4 04-18-2007 10:40 PM
DFI LanParty UT SLI-M2R/G Rob Williams Motherboards 10 09-11-2006 07:46 PM
DFI LanParty UT Ultra-D Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 12-04-2005 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 PM.