Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2008, 11:47 PM   #1
scarrylarry
Obliviot
 
scarrylarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Question Vista Autoplay Trouble.

Hello everyone,

2 months ago I bought a new pc. My father liked it and ended up buying the exact same one. The spec are HP Model:m8400f, AMD Phenom 9600 Quad-core processer at 2.30 Ghz, 3gig ram, and Windows vista home premium 32-bit service pack 1.

Ok the problem is when I put any kind of cd in MY cd/dvd writer drive an autoplay window pops up asking what I want to do. Depending on what kind of cd I put in.

When my father puts a cd in HIS drive nothing happens and no autoplay comes up. We went to the autoplay section in the vista control panel and the settings are the same on both pc's. We even changed some of the autoplay settings on his and mine and mine still comes up. His doesn't.

If anyone has any thoughts on why this is happening or something else I could try I would appreciate any feed back. I'm still kinda new to vista but I had xp for years so I know my way around a little. Thanks in advance.
,Larry
scarrylarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 01:49 AM   #2
scarrylarry
Obliviot
 
scarrylarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default

We got it fixed He had a program installed called ACDSee it's a picture viewer and his version had something called device detector with it and it was causing a conflict. We switched it off and it works fine.
scarrylarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 03:08 PM   #3
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Glad ya got it figured it!
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh I am in trouble now! RainMotorsports General Software 0 12-21-2012 03:54 AM
Having trouble counting to 100,000? Rob Williams Off Topic 9 08-20-2011 08:33 PM
The Trouble With Multicore Psi* Reader-Submitted News 2 07-16-2010 05:52 PM
Jerry Seinfeld Said to Feature in Vista Vista Ad Campaign Rob Williams Off Topic 1 08-24-2008 01:00 PM
Now I Have Router trouble!!! scarrylarry General Hardware 1 06-24-2006 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.