Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
tanusgreystar
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default USB issue

Hi. 2 of my USB ports keep telling me there's a power surge whenever I try to hook anything up to them, even keyboard and mouse. What would cause this?? It's an older PC (2002), and it's a Gateway 500X. Thanks.
tanusgreystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 03:43 PM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default

Hmm, power surge? Could you maybe screenshot the error and post it here? I've never heard of such an error in Windows before.

If you did indeed have a power surge, chances are it screwed up your USB ports, which is unlikely to be fixable.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 07:59 PM   #3
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

I've heard of this... it could mean you have to many USB devices drawing to much current through your USB bus, or if you have nothing else plugged into the USB ports then the USB ports themselves are going out.

Wouldn't hurt to try the mouse/keyboard in a different computer just to rule them out though.

Afraid I can't really help beyond that though:
http://www.google.com/search?client=...sb+power+surge
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #4
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Maybe try using a PCI card that has USB ports?
Or else it's the power supply for the whole computer.
As I remember Gateway never did power their machines correctly...such as Emachines, do now.

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 12:24 AM   #5
tanusgreystar
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default

The keyboard and mouse are fine. I will try to see if I just have those things hooked to the USB if it still power surges. I have had a lot of things hooked up USB.
tanusgreystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:47 AM   #6
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanusgreystar View Post
The keyboard and mouse are fine. I will try to see if I just have those things hooked to the USB if it still power surges. I have had a lot of things hooked up USB.
As I said, it could also be you many to many things plugged in. Tried unplugging everything, then trying the mouse&keyboard?

The warning was implemented to help keep users from blowing out the USB fuses on the main board, once that goes the USB bus goes with it.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 03:18 PM   #7
tanusgreystar
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default

That's what I meant, just having the keyboard and mouse plugged in. I'll unplug everything and then plug the kb and mouse into the ports I'm having trouble with and see what happens.
tanusgreystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever have this issue with Origin? Rob Williams Gaming 6 02-28-2013 03:14 PM
Having an issue with NAT Rob Williams General Hardware 15 04-18-2012 04:46 PM
Got an issue TheCrimsonStar General Hardware 5 09-15-2010 12:56 AM
Video Issue g-sixty General Software 3 02-27-2007 02:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.