Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Storage Devices and Memory

Storage Devices and Memory Hard Drives, Optical Drives, Flash and anything memory related can be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2008, 10:16 PM   #1
Hawke
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Default DVD thinks certain populated disks are blank

I have a small problem at the moment, for some reason, my DVD-RAM drive (NEC ND-4571A) thinks that some populated disks (backups of my mothers digital photos from my old system) are blank. A good few weeks back, I used the same DVD-RAM drive read them no problem at all, and a few days back, I managed to write an ISO to a DVD-RW disk to install openSUSE along side Windows XP and it worked fine.

Initially I thought the disks were broken somehow, but I tested them on my laptop, and they work fine - another odd thing (going back to the PC in question) is when I start up Windows XP, the drive reads the disks fine, but when I ejected it and put it back in/put a simular disks in, Windows saw this as a blank disk again.

I used CDburnerXP to burn the disks
I am not sure if this is caused by Service Pack 3, I managed to recover the data off the disks with ISObuster though, ISObuster marked my files on the drive as corrupt but transfered perfectly well to the hard disk and they turned out fine. This is worrying me a bit, could this be caused by Service Pack 3 for Windows XP or is this the first signs of my drive dieing?

This seems to be only happening to DVD-RW media
Hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 11:43 PM   #2
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Hmmmmm
Could be the driver that reads the disk, maybe uninstall and then reinstall, or maybe just an updated driver.
I had this happen with one DVD drive from one machine to another, I just took the drivers out and reinstalled
HIH

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 12:40 AM   #3
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

What Merlin said, sounds like a driver or software issue.

Have you uninstalled any drive or disc software recently? What sort of file types are they? ISOs? If you just installed SP3, I'd try uninstalling and reinstalling the software you usually use to read and work with the file types on those discs.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 09:39 AM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

That's an odd one... but I've run into similar issues like that before. I agree with Merlin and Kougar, it's probably a driver issue, since it reads the disc after initial boot.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 08:56 PM   #5
Hawke
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Default

There was no software drivers included with the DVD-RAM drive (I'm assuming you mean software drivers), but I haven't updated its firmware, I, also I have looked at the procedures of updating the DVD-RAM firmware that came with the Zip file and it does confuse me a bit (It is copied and pasted from the README file)

Quote:
Pls note following instructions for update procedure:

Connect drive to secondary IDE channel as Master

Disconnect all slave hardware from IDE secondary Master

Use standard UDMA-2 IDE cable

Update in Windows "Safe Mode"

Under Windows 2000 & XP login as administrator

Update without DMA mode, under Windows XP & 2000 in the device manager - "IDE ATA/ ATAPI controllers", you can switch from DMA to PIO mode

Disconnect all external USB/ FireWire devices.

Deactivate virusscanners, active desktop programs and packetwriting agents

Do not turn off power during the updating process.


Note: Warranty will be lost during false updating procedure, especially unofficial modified firmwares were used before.
In such cases we could not offer you a solution any more. You have to repair it by cost then.
Problem is, my motherboard has no secondary IDE/PATA channel, only one

One thing I must stress that when I first booted up my PC after it was rebuilt over a month, I never had this issue with the DVD-RAM drive, so it is definetly not the motherboard at fault here...
Hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 11:58 PM   #6
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

I do not mean the DVD drive firmware or drivers. I was talking about the software you use to read/open the files you are putting on the disc?
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 12:56 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I think the first thing I'd do is go into the device manager and uninstall it. You can get there from Start > Right-Click Computer and select Properties, then select Device Manager. Right-click the ODD, uninstall it, then reboot. It will reinstall on the next boot, hopefully fixing what it broke before.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 12:19 PM   #8
Hawke
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Default

Sorry for the lack of my reply - I just uninstalled my DVD-RAM drive and rebooted Windows, it is working a bit better, but I used my mothers DVD/CD lens cleaner (a CD with fibers on it) and it did make some difference, the DVD-RW seems to be reading now (with a hickup now and again)

Thanks for your help
Hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 12:36 PM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Good to hear! You must really abuse your drives to have one get the sensor so dirty ;-)
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seagate Introduces Pulsar SLC Solid-State Disks Rob Williams Storage Devices and Memory 0 12-09-2009 01:45 AM
Why can't i play HD and Blu-ray disks?PLEASE HELP! Gop Video Cards and Displays 17 10-23-2009 02:56 AM
Intel Launches Industry's First 34nm Solid-State Disks Rob Williams Storage Devices and Memory 4 07-28-2009 10:36 PM
New Danger Mouse CD Released As A Blank CD-R Due To Legal Fight With EMI Kougar Audio 3 05-18-2009 01:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.