Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2009, 07:51 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,336
Default Windows 7 Launch Date & Box Art Revealed

From our front-page news:
Alright, so this isn't new news, but for the few people who don't know, Microsoft announced the Windows 7 launch date last week, and that happens to be October 22, a Thursday. This is semi-odd placement, as it misses the "back-to-school" rush and also lands a bit short of the holiday season, but hey, at least they aren't rushing things.

Although the release date has been unveiled, pricing has not. We can expect that to fall in line with what we saw with Vista, if not a little bit lower. Also similar to Vista, 7 will become available in a variety of editions, the most popular on these shores of which will be Home Premium, Professional (Business) and Ultimate. For netbooks, Home Basic is sure to be a popular option.

Along with the new launch date, Microsoft has also revealed the box art on their store, and I have to say, it looks quite good. It's modern, clean, and doesn't say Vista on the cover (haw haw). In all seriousness though, I don't even use Windows as my primary OS, but I'm still excited to see this thing launch.


Windows 7 was built around your feedback, so you'll see a lot of things you've asked for. You asked us to make everyday tasks faster and easier, to make your PC work the way you want it to, and to make it possible to do new things. And that's exactly what we've done. See how it's come to life.


Source: Microsoft Store
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 12:04 PM   #2
madstork91
The One, The Only...
 
madstork91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 1,434
Default

This was the same date that was leaked near over a month ago if I'm not mistaken...

If a 64-bit 7 is anything like the current 64-bit Vista, or better , then you can count me in.

(for those of you following me an my anti vista campaign... *sigh* i am currently loaded up under 64-bit vista.)
__________________
..
madstork91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 03:15 PM   #3
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,558
Default

Windows 7 will retire my Windows XP..
for a 64-bit windows, should i increase my RAM to 4GB or 8GB?!?
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 03:52 PM   #4
THUMPer
Coastermaker
 
THUMPer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianpolis!
Posts: 230
Default

4GB
As long as you turn of UAC, Windows Search/Indexing and turn off system Restore. Vista runs great. Same for 7
THUMPer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 06:25 AM   #5
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

Nice avvie, Doom. And naw, 4GB is plenty. For triple channel systems I'd say 6GB is the sweet spot. Anything more is just wasted unless the person does hours of content creation, video encoding, etc...

I run 6GB, but gave VMware an entire 1GB of memory to itself to run Ubuntu, I still can't notice it's even running at ~27% CPU usage.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 06:51 AM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,336
Default

I concur... 4GB is fine. By the time you'll see the need for more, you'll probably want to build an entirely new machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
I run 6GB, but gave VMware an entire 1GB of memory to itself to run Ubuntu, I still can't notice it's even running at ~27% CPU usage.
Not to side-swipe the convo... how are you liking VMware, or virtualization in general?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 10:56 AM   #7
madstork91
The One, The Only...
 
madstork91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 1,434
Default

Not that this is on topic either ;-p

I think you wont see many apps pushing the 4gb hard until you start seeing more lapty and the like with 4gb+

There are a lot of lapty's being sold atm, and I think some of them might become the standard specs for programmers.
__________________
..
madstork91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:23 PM   #8
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,558
Default

4GB it is then..

Kougar, What do you hear?
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 02:24 PM   #9
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Decisions........Decisions
Will it never stop?
WinXp is begining to look like Win98

I'll do the fresh install, not an upgrade, I hate to have all the left over garbage.
As with work, I'll have to be familiar with Win7 to help my customers
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 10:10 PM   #10
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Not to side-swipe the convo... how are you liking VMware, or virtualization in general?
I think the 2 CPU limit in VMware is bull, and the control interface through the browser for remote access is a little obtuse when I'd prefer a simple program for local access to it. But otherwise it is working well so far, and I can safely say the Linux SMP code is light years better than the Windows SMP program. Forget that it's being run inside a virtualized OS, it runs just as fast on two threads than the Windows SMP does on four, not to mention it's actually stable code.

But about virtualization in general... I know that with each new line of processors Intel has made significant improvements onto their hardware virtualization, Nehalem's HV capabilities are definitely impressive. The load from leaving Ubuntu running is so minimal that I can play games, watch videos, do whatever without noticing or knowing it was running. Now if I was allowed to configure VMWare to use four threads, I'd make a second virtual Ubuntu install and no even use the Windows SMP client anymore...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doomsday View Post
4GB it is then..

Kougar, What do you hear?
Hear about what?
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X


Last edited by Kougar; 06-10-2009 at 10:15 PM.
Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:25 PM   #11
madstork91
The One, The Only...
 
madstork91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 1,434
Default

I currently hear Bob Dylan - Shelter from the storm. Lulz.
__________________
..
madstork91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:42 PM   #12
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Hear about what?
woopsy, sorry, i thought u were familiar with the dude in my avatar,Commander Adama from Battlestar Galactica, lol!
hmm, i recommend u watch the miniseries movie of Battlestar Galactica on 720p, if ur a Sci-Fi fan! and then u can answer me question too! hehe!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 01:33 PM   #13
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar
I think the 2 CPU limit in VMware is bull
I agree... and the reason as to why that's the case is something I want to figure out. This limitation is worse on i7 since it's effectively getting only one real CPU core. Odd how that works, huh? The EPT advantages have me really wanting to upgrade to i7 though... I rarely ever need more than one core for what I do there.

As for the remote access... can you give me a general idea of where to start on that? I had no idea such a feature existed in the consumer version of VMware.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 07:19 PM   #14
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

I am using VMWare Server because that was freely available for use from their site. I am not entirely sure if they impose such CPU limits on VMware Workstation, which is what I apparently should be using. VMware server doesn't allow me to clone the virtual machine either.

VMWare server is built for use as a server VM that you log into from other machines, so it's a little unorthodox to administrate it from the machine it's actually running on. Most web browsers will outright prevent you from even accessing it because it flags the address as dangerous, but leave it to IE to let you browse there anyway.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:23 PM   #15
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,336
Default

Oh, alright. I'm not familiar with VMware Server. I thought none of the free versions of VMware allowed creation of virtual machines though. Am I wrong? I'll have to check it out regardless...

As for VMware Workstation, it's what I use, and yes, it imposes the same 2-core restriction.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When a GNU crashes a Windows 8 launch event... Rob Williams General Software 3 10-29-2012 12:22 PM
Intel Ivy Bridge Launch Model Specs Revealed Rob Williams Processors 2 12-07-2011 02:09 PM
Windows 7 Has Sold 400 Million Licenses Since Launch Rob Williams General Software 6 08-16-2011 12:21 AM
Windows 7 OEM Pricing Revealed Rob Williams General Software 1 10-08-2009 10:10 PM
Windows 7 Launch Confirmed for 2010 Rob Williams General Software 13 03-15-2008 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 AM.