Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Motherboards

Motherboards Discussion of motherboards of all form-factors and their chipsets should be discussed about here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2010, 07:11 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Problematic LAN ports?

About a month ago, I began having an issue with the LAN ports on my Gigabyte X58A-UD5, and I'm wondering if I'm alone, or if other's have had similar issues with either the same board or another. For the most part, the LAN ports here work great, and are rather reliable. But on occasion, a mere reboot will cause them to cease functioning.

The first time it happened, I had thought that the LAN ports did indeed just die, but after shutting down the PC for about a minute, then booting back up, they worked again. It just made no sense. I hoped it was a one-off kind of issue, but since then, it's happened more than once. In fact, it happens on 1/3 reboots, or around there.

The problem isn't so much that the LAN ports just die, because they are still visible by the PC, but it's rather the fact that neither will connect to either the network or the Internet. It also happens in both Linux or Windows, with the latest drivers, so I don't think that's the issue.

It's frustrating though, to boot into an OS and the network just not work. So far, the same solution of booting down for up to a minute fixes it, but I'm not sure how.

Anyone ever hear of this issue before, or experience it yourself?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 12:58 AM   #2
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Ethernet ports are very delicate when it comes to electrical surges. I have a cheap APC surge protector/power strip between the outside grid and my computer and I have recently ran into issues similar to yours.

I have the same issues with my Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P. It's random but after a reboot, sometimes I cannot get out to the internet. It acts like there isn't a network cable attached.

We have had a higher than average amount of storms this spring and early summer and a few weeks ago, lighting hit a transformer about 100 meters down from my house. I lost my well pump and had to replace it. Since then, my router, a Netgear WNDR-3700, has had issues connecting to any of my devices at gigabit speeds. I also have a Netgear ReadyNAS-Duo connected to the router and it won't connect at anything higher than 10 Mpbs. I have initiated the RMA process for both my router and my NAS box and I hope that this solves the issues of connectivity speeds.

It's been hit and miss with the on board NIC but more often than not, I have to dick around with the connection and reboot my PC to get it to even register as connected. I have an Intel PCI NIC on the way so I don't have to mess around with the on board anymore but you aren't alone in your troubles.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 05:05 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Good to see you back on the forums, Greg :-)

Well... I might just buy the theory that a power surge or something like it caused the issue, but even so, it sucks to have them just "die" like that. Around here, power surges aren't so much an issue, but power outages are, and I'm sure having the cord plugged like that doesn't do a PC good. I don't recall an outage that recently, at least, since I began using this board, but there probably was one.

I'm just glad that the ports aren't literally "dead"... because that would be way, way inconvenient.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 06:19 PM   #4
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

I can't say for sure that it was a surge, but with the storms we have had recently, thats my guess. I am fortunate that my gear that is acting up is under warranty. If not, I would have to battle APC, as they are the makers of my surge protector. Either way, its a monumental hassle to reboot your PC after every third or forth restart, just to get your NIC to show up.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:52 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

You got that right.

Last night, I was doing some light benchmarking in Windows on this PC, and after I rebooted back into Linux, again, no LAN. So, I shut down for 30 seconds as usual, boot back up, nothing. Shut down for 1 minute, boot up, nothing. This time, it took being shut off for a couple of minutes before the LAN came back to life. Unbelievable. I hope it doesn't make a habit of it :-(
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:52 PM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

You got that right.

Last night, I was doing some light benchmarking in Windows on this PC, and after I rebooted back into Linux, again, no LAN. So, I shut down for 30 seconds as usual, boot back up, nothing. Shut down for 1 minute, boot up, nothing. This time, it took being shut off for a couple of minutes before the LAN came back to life. Unbelievable. I hope it doesn't make a habit of it :-(
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's Best to Stay Clear of Apple Siri Ports Rob Williams Mobile & Small Form-Factor Computing 18 12-09-2011 02:35 PM
Problematic pestilence. Wimpyburger Motherboards 5 08-23-2010 01:40 PM
Dell Admits Problematic 3008WFP's, Pulls Model from Web Sites Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 4 04-16-2008 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.