Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2010, 02:53 AM   #1
softblushcom
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default Power Supply Compatibility

OK. Real simple question (I think I hope I think).

Looking to put a CORSAIR 650w power supply in my Dell Inspiron 530a (not a slimline).

Will it physically fit....any particular or notable issues before I make the purpose?

(Assuming it does, my purchase choices are NEWEGG, WALMART, TIGERDIRECT, or BESTBUY. Any warnings or heads-up (ignoring price)?

Thank you
softblushcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:55 AM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default

I am not familiar with Dell PCs that well, but to know if it'd fit, you'd have to take the side off and look. Get the measurements from Corsair's site, then just compare. If I had to guess, the PSU will fit, but you also need to make sure that the old PSU is even removable. I'm really, REALLY not familiar with how Dell does things, and it might differ from model to model.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:44 PM   #3
softblushcom
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
I am not familiar with Dell PCs that well, but to know if it'd fit, you'd have to take the side off and look. Get the measurements from Corsair's site, then just compare. If I had to guess, the PSU will fit, but you also need to make sure that the old PSU is even removable. I'm really, REALLY not familiar with how Dell does things, and it might differ from model to model.
Thanks Rob. I planned on doing a dimension check before going forward, just hoping someone might have already done the dance and had some pointers.

I think it is removable, as Dell does offer replacement/upgrades.
From all I've read/learned, the Inspiron 530 has a 300w standard ATX PSU.

Follow-up question: Read somewhere I might have to update the BIOS. Is that a possibility/likely?
softblushcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
softblushcom
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default Update BIOS?

Just found a decent deal at TigerDirect for the PSU, but was hoping to get a few words of wisdom on the last part of my question:

Inspiron 530/1.66GHzCPU/32bitXP/Dell BIOS 1.0.3 from 2007
Going from stock 300wPSU to a Corsair 650TX.
---Am I going to have to update the BIOS before the PSU will work?

Thanks & Happy Turkey Day!

Quote:
Originally Posted by softblushcom View Post
Thanks Rob. I planned on doing a dimension check before going forward, just hoping someone might have already done the dance and had some pointers.

I think it is removable, as Dell does offer replacement/upgrades.
From all I've read/learned, the Inspiron 530 has a 300w standard ATX PSU.

Follow-up question: Read somewhere I might have to update the BIOS. Is that a possibility/likely?
softblushcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 12:48 PM   #5
DarkStarr
Tech Monkey
 
DarkStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 634
Default

No, the PSU has nothing to do with the bios. Some dell PSUs are standard, some aren't and I had a dell from a friend the PSU on it was really odd hopefully you wont have a problem.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k (4.8 @ 100x48) Watercooled - 16GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T
8GB
Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Asus Radeon 7970 Ref. (Non Ghz)
Heatkiller 79xx Ni-Bl (Soon) @ 1050/1500
- 64Gb Crucial M4 SSD - 3x Hitachi 1Tb - Corsair TX950W
Azza Genesis 9000B - 2x Samsung SyncMaster S27A550H - Vizio 32" LCD

DarkStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supply failures Psi* General Hardware 7 10-27-2009 02:28 AM
Power Supply requirements cyborg939 General Hardware 4 11-12-2007 05:53 AM
2,000W Power Supply anyone? Rob Williams General Hardware 9 02-24-2007 11:26 AM
XG Duro 900 Power Supply Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 29 11-30-2006 09:40 AM
Power Supply Will Nave General Hardware 6 06-09-2005 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.