Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Site HQ > Site and Forum Comments & Issues

Site and Forum Comments & Issues Comments? Suggestions? Out-right flames? Found a bug? Feel free to post about it here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2011, 11:36 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default Acronis True Image Home 2012 Contest

(Contest is closed. Winner to be chosen in the days to come.)

It's time for another Techgage contest!

We're giving away a copy of Acronis True Image Home 2012 to 5 randomly-selected entrants. In lieu of physical product, we're going to be awarding digital copies, allowing us to open this contest worldwide.

To enter, we want to know what your backup solution is if you have one, and also whether or not you've experienced a data disaster in the past. No, we're not gluttons for data corruption stories, but getting the word out about what can happen sure can't hurt!

Important: Non-site members need to include a Facebook or Twitter handle so that we have a method of contact in the event of a winner. Our regular community members will receive 2 entries into our contest as a thanks from us for their active participation.

Good luck!


Full rules and regulations can be seen on our official contest page.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.



Last edited by Rob Williams; 11-01-2011 at 01:09 AM.
Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 11:53 PM   #2
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Oh! This is great Rob. Thanks for another excellent contest. I'm in!

...

My latest backup story is unfortunately rather recent. This February I got my current system. Moving stuff from one computer to the other was a simple matter of performing the necessary backups on the old system and restore them to the new. In the end I had 5 DVDs worth of backups (mostly work, pictures, music and emulator stuff).

Having used a backup software for some time already, this was no big deal. So once it was all done and over with, I wiped the old disk to be used on the new machine as a 2nd HD. Unfortunately, I didn't check my DVDs against errors. I had actually lost two of them, thanks to Roxio Burner. Half of my arcade and ZX Spectrum emulator collection gone. As well as a non essential part of my work.

Moral of the Story: Always check your backup media for errors. Just using a good backup program isn't enough. It's important to make sure the backups are correctly stored.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:44 AM   #3
slugbug
Partition Master
 
slugbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 336
Default

I could make good use of this app.
I don't have a backup solution but luckily have not experienced any data loss in a few years.
__________________
Going broke saving money.

Last edited by slugbug; 10-20-2011 at 03:27 AM.
slugbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 04:55 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default I'm in!

Currently don't have a full-disk backup solution, but I have my own XXCOPY-powered backup scripts which copy my important docs to an external HDD. Haven't experienced a drive failure, yet.

My Twitter: whitehat2k9
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:14 PM   #5
sh4un
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4
Default

I use Nero Back-it-up on the family computer. The HTPC and my laptop currently don't have any back-up set up. Any important files I put on the family computer as a back-up, but I am at risk of losing my contacts, bookmarks, and the like.
sh4un is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 10:46 PM   #6
Superman
Obliviot
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sol, Earth
Posts: 6
Default

I would love to get my hands on this Rob. Count me in.

I had a major disaster a few years back and lost everything. Saved games, bookmarks, home work, work work and, just stuff I had collected.
So now I am currently using the Windows 7 backup and restore, in control panel.
It runs every week on to a external drive and, I periodically copy that to another drive and/or burn it onto dvds for added assurance.
__________________
ThermalTake Xaser III V1000D Blue Steel Case, Koolance Exos-2.5, SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W,
EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 X58 3-Way SLI Core i7 Motherboard, Intel i7 920, CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit, 2x EVGA GeForce GTX 580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 in surround SLI mode, EVGA GeForce GTX 295 for Physx and and additional monitors,
Logitech 5.1 surround sound, 8.5TB combined hard drive space,
Microsoft Natural Keyboard, Logitech Trackman Marble Wheel
Superman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:54 AM   #7
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Smile Let me win!

I need this!! :-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:02 PM   #8
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Folks. Some of you really need to read the contest rules.

Slugbug and the unregistered person above me, please notice these parts:

Quote:
To enter our contest, we want to know what your backup solution is if you have one, and also whether or not you've experienced a data disaster in the past.
Quote:
Non-site members need to include a Facebook or Twitter handle so that we have a method of contact in the event of a winner.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:48 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Backup solution

OK - I'm a bit of a belt, braces and another belt type of guy.

Primary backup is an online system from a company that we are channel partners for. This backs up almost all of my personal and company data (some exceptions, listed below)

Everything in "My documents" (which includes all my company stuff, MP3s and videos) is synchronised to a laptop (strictly speaking - not a backup but a copy as I can only get back the latest version).

MP3s, videos and photos are synchronised to an NAS device (again, strictly speaking not a backup)

MP3s & videos that haven't come from CDs or DVDs (e.g. downloads, own recordings, etc.) & photos are copied onto 2 DVDs, one onsite, one offsite. There are 2 sets of DVDs so that I never overwrite the latest backup

Finally, ex-clients are archived to 3 DVDs, 1 onsite, 2 offsite.

As for disasters - several, fortunately none mine. I've had disk failures, but my backups have always worked. I've had clients phone saying their disk has died and can I recover the data - usually the answer is yes, but the cost is as much as they would have paid for 5 years worth of backup, and it takes longer to do the recovery.

I'm twitter.com/trevorwood
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:15 PM   #10
larrypm
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 1
Default

I have a 500 Gb Seagate Drive plus six USB drives of various sizes. I use a variety of backup means offered by Microsoft Windows and others. But I do religiously backup important things like my music and documents.
I also have two partiotions on my laptop, one for OS, and another for a second back up.
I learned the hard way after a drive died on me several years ago, a standard hard drive in a case, and I lost everything on it, including 1500 songs.
larrypm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #11
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default count me in.

HI after having a hard drive fail on me in the past with no backups for it I learned my lesson and started making system images of my drives on a backup external hard drive. It would be nice to have a all in 1 backup solution.

My facebook handle is: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000013171774
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:18 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I store some important files online (google docs, etc) and I hope my HDs won't let me down soon...

@josevigny
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:12 PM   #13
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default

Good entries so far. Keep 'em coming, peeps
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:53 PM   #14
SupremeGeek
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default

I do not currently have much of a backup plan. I have lost data before. We had a 1TB HDD that failed with camily pictures on it. I had manually copied most of them to another drive but I did loose quite a few.
SupremeGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 12:31 AM   #15
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default My backup solution

My backup solution right now is just using the built in backup in Windows 7 and just on two Western Digital 500 gb drives.

Twitter: @cooliebwoy
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acronis True Image Home 2012 Released Rob Williams General Software 0 08-24-2011 05:34 PM
Acronis True Image 2011 Greg King General Software 5 05-01-2011 12:05 PM
WD Acronis True Image WD Edition Software Psi* Storage Devices and Memory 4 04-12-2011 05:52 PM
Acronis True Image Home 2011 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 10-29-2010 03:21 AM
Our Labs Have Adopted Acronis True Image Rob Williams General Software 3 07-09-2009 03:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 AM.