Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Motherboards

Motherboards Discussion of motherboards of all form-factors and their chipsets should be discussed about here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2006, 09:53 PM   #1
leecho7
Partition Master
 
leecho7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 271
Default Having to clear Cmos after restart.

I just got my DFI Lanparty Ultra-D in tonight. I hooked everything up, it booted fine. I went into Bios, set my boot priorities to install windows xp, saved and restarted. The screen went black... and stayed black. All the fans still run and it seems to be working well, except when i restart I get a black screen at boot. In order to remedy this, I have to clear CMOS for me to be able to get back into bios.

Current Rig

DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
Sapphire x1900xtx
AMD Athlon 64 3700
2gig G.skill pc4000
Antec smart power 500w

Any ideas?
__________________
The way we saluting flags, wrapping them around our heads when ni**az ain't become American till 9/11 //Feeling like you gotta sneak into heaven//When the reverend looking like a pimp and the pimp look like the reverend...
People let me paint a picture You know I ain't a christian I ain't a muslim, ain't a jew I'm losing my religion I speak to god directly...
~Around my Way - Talib Kweli

You go to church to find you some religion//And all you hear is connivin' and gossip and contradiction and//You try to vote and participate in the government//And the muh'f***in' Democrats is actin' like Republicans
~The Beautiful Struggle - Talib Kweli
leecho7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:13 PM   #2
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Ahhh..........welcome to the damned club bro. I found that a simple BIOS update cured my problems. I am not sure what caused my mobo to force me to reset the BIOS but it happened during a install into a new case.....whatever. Try to update your BIOS to the latest version and that -should- remedy your problem. You also might try to power your PC down and then back up if you are not wanting to attempt a BIOS update. Should you need any help, thats what we are here for.

-Dark
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 05:28 AM   #3
leecho7
Partition Master
 
leecho7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 271
Default

Installed windows without a hitch. One thing though, I noticed it takes a while for windows to load at boot up. A lot longer than it took on my Asus board. It would take my Asus board about 10 seconds to load windows, but now it takes me about 30-40 seconds. Any ideas?
__________________
The way we saluting flags, wrapping them around our heads when ni**az ain't become American till 9/11 //Feeling like you gotta sneak into heaven//When the reverend looking like a pimp and the pimp look like the reverend...
People let me paint a picture You know I ain't a christian I ain't a muslim, ain't a jew I'm losing my religion I speak to god directly...
~Around my Way - Talib Kweli

You go to church to find you some religion//And all you hear is connivin' and gossip and contradiction and//You try to vote and participate in the government//And the muh'f***in' Democrats is actin' like Republicans
~The Beautiful Struggle - Talib Kweli
leecho7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 10:34 AM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Make sure you have the latest BIOS. I'd also search around in the BIOS for SATA related options. My Windows takes 30 - 40 seconds to boot up also, and when I used to be on IDE it wasn't half that bad.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 07:09 PM   #5
leecho7
Partition Master
 
leecho7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 271
Default

Yeah I'm still on IDE. But so far, I ran prime95 for 12 hours at 2.6gigs completely stable.

I'm just worried about my chipset temps, it rises up to 60c.
__________________
The way we saluting flags, wrapping them around our heads when ni**az ain't become American till 9/11 //Feeling like you gotta sneak into heaven//When the reverend looking like a pimp and the pimp look like the reverend...
People let me paint a picture You know I ain't a christian I ain't a muslim, ain't a jew I'm losing my religion I speak to god directly...
~Around my Way - Talib Kweli

You go to church to find you some religion//And all you hear is connivin' and gossip and contradiction and//You try to vote and participate in the government//And the muh'f***in' Democrats is actin' like Republicans
~The Beautiful Struggle - Talib Kweli
leecho7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 07:52 AM   #6
leecho7
Partition Master
 
leecho7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 271
Default

I think I just figured out how to make windows boot up faster. I changed the boot priority in the bios from 1st cd rom 2nd harddrive to 1st harddrive 2nd cd rom. Windows boots in like 7 seconds now. Might want to try that out Rob. Maybe it was just a fluke though. But oh well.
__________________
The way we saluting flags, wrapping them around our heads when ni**az ain't become American till 9/11 //Feeling like you gotta sneak into heaven//When the reverend looking like a pimp and the pimp look like the reverend...
People let me paint a picture You know I ain't a christian I ain't a muslim, ain't a jew I'm losing my religion I speak to god directly...
~Around my Way - Talib Kweli

You go to church to find you some religion//And all you hear is connivin' and gossip and contradiction and//You try to vote and participate in the government//And the muh'f***in' Democrats is actin' like Republicans
~The Beautiful Struggle - Talib Kweli
leecho7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 02:31 PM   #7
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Yeah, you certainly save some time by bypassing the CD-ROM boot. I personally do not mind it but it is deffinately something that you can save some time with. Good call.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Introducing 'Restart to Safari' Mode with Mac OS X Lion Tharic-Nar General Software 1 06-14-2011 01:51 PM
Please help cpu warning cmos Cobra26 General Hardware 12 02-03-2010 03:11 PM
AblePlanet Clear Harmony Headphones Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 6 03-04-2008 03:45 PM
Who uses clear type? Greg King General Software 5 12-04-2006 01:20 PM
Logisys Clear Acrylic Case Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 04-29-2006 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.