Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Submissions > Reader-Submitted News

Reader-Submitted News Stumble on some interesting news from around the Web and want to share? This is the place!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2012, 08:18 PM   #1
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default Get your phasers out nerds. Star Trek Online went free to play!

I actually seem to be late on this one.....

Quote:
Welcome to the Star Trek Online free-to-play information center! Here you will find all you need to know about the options available to subscribers and non-subscribing players. Please use the tabs above to check out our detailed features matrix for a breakdown of what subscribing Gold Members and free Silver Players receive. There's also a FAQ and a Q&A board.

Here's an overview of Star Trek Online's free-to-play features and how you can engage in a number of different ways:

The Universe is Your Only Limit – Play as much as you like for as long as you like at no cost. No subscription is necessary, nor is payment of any kind required.
Episodic Gameplay – Experience new weekly episodes that feature story-based gameplay and put your captain's ability to command to the ultimate test.
Your Captain, Your Crew, Your Destiny – Become a captain, seek out new life and new civilizations and encounter hostile beings as you advance to maximum level for free.
Familiar Places, New Experiences – Travel to Starfleet Academy, Deep Space Nine, The First City of Qo'noS and many other iconic locations and notable worlds from the beloved Star Trek universe.

The information you find here, like the rest of Star Trek Online's free-to-play experience, is subject to change.
Check out the list of features between free and gold before you decide to play. Looks decent enough to me - http://www.startrekonline.com/f2p_features

Download to the installer is here - http://sto-ns.perfectworld.com/clien...111218a.12.exe

Create an account here - https://register.perfectworld.com/sto_splash
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-18-2012 at 08:55 PM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:51 PM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Hmm, I thought STO has been F2P for a while? Well, a couple of months at least.

It's interesting how a lot of companies are going this particular F2P route, with premium accounts. Lineage II just went F2P, but there's nothing like that. Instead, the company just hopes to sell lots of in-game items. I guess either method works, but I'd have to guess that it might be the in-game items that are the most profitable. Well of course, that assumes that STO doesn't have in-game items for sale as well.

You going to be playing this one, Rain?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:53 PM   #3
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Yeah I wasn't aware it was already just noticed posts on 2 sites I follow. Damn am I always out of the loop What I get for trying.

Yeah I intend to play this one... only it crashes out everytime i want to login yay.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-18-2012 at 09:53 PM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:26 AM   #4
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

STO was advertising F2P for almost six months... but it did not go free to play until a couple days ago.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:07 PM   #5
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

*Force Chokes all Trekkies!*
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:25 PM   #6
OriginalJoeCool
Tech Monkey
 
OriginalJoeCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 617
Default

That's quite a download. 5 or 6 hours to go ....
__________________
Last.fm

Raptr

"Man could hold the universe in his palm, if only he could learn to unclench his fist."
OriginalJoeCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:13 AM   #7
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OriginalJoeCool View Post
That's quite a download. 5 or 6 hours to go ....
WHAT?.... What are you people on lol. Its like 3GB thats less than an hour for me. I have that problem where I can blow my 250 GB cap in about 3 or 4 days.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:13 AM   #8
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

STO will use 10GB on disk... that's a good bit more than 3GB
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:32 AM   #9
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
STO will use 10GB on disk... that's a good bit more than 3GB
The installer download they give is 3.58 GB and uses a download manager to pull it. Dont know what else to say its still sitting on my desktop and I remember it saying 3 something when I started.

The cryptic studios folder is 3.48 GB but then again at this point the damn game doesnt work so who knows what they dished out to people on the 2 days i tried this multiple times.

Crashes at login everytime, seems most people its teamviewer and I do use that so i took care of it and still days later many other things tried...

Redownloaded it again and took this screen shot just now:
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-21-2012 at 08:35 AM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:45 PM   #10
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

I have STO on my Steam account, the total local file size is exactly 10GB. What is weird is STO doesn't appear to be hosted on Steam anymore, looks like all the STO listings have been removed completely.



Not sure of any tips to help with your installer issues, other than the basic deleting the entire game cache and installer, and grabbing a new copy of the installation downloader?
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:17 PM   #11
OriginalJoeCool
Tech Monkey
 
OriginalJoeCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainMotorsports View Post
WHAT?.... What are you people on lol. Its like 3GB thats less than an hour for me. I have that problem where I can blow my 250 GB cap in about 3 or 4 days.
DSL ... an average of 180KB/s compared to your 2799KB/s.
__________________
Last.fm

Raptr

"Man could hold the universe in his palm, if only he could learn to unclench his fist."
OriginalJoeCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:47 PM   #12
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OriginalJoeCool View Post
DSL ... an average of 180KB/s compared to your 2799KB/s.
Damn, wanna borrow my phone? DSL oh dear if i ever got stuck on that again.



Put it in kilobyte for ya. Lower than the 10 to 15 Mbit im used to. Solid 8 today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
I have STO on my Steam account, the total local file size is exactly 10GB. What is weird is STO doesn't appear to be hosted on Steam anymore, looks like all the STO listings have been removed completely.



Not sure of any tips to help with your installer issues, other than the basic deleting the entire game cache and installer, and grabbing a new copy of the installation downloader?
First place i looked to get it was steam. I dunno man I will throw my old 250 gig in the dock and do a super clean minimal install and try it out. Downloaded the downloader several times, checked for updates etc etc. Kinda bums me out but screw it.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-22-2012 at 12:57 AM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 05:10 PM   #13
OriginalJoeCool
Tech Monkey
 
OriginalJoeCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainMotorsports View Post
Damn, wanna borrow my phone? DSL oh dear if i ever got stuck on that again.
I'll get fibre eventually. I just need to call to get it installed.



Quote:
Originally Posted by RainMotorsports View Post
First place i looked to get it was steam. I dunno man I will throw my old 250 gig in the dock and do a super clean minimal install and try it out. Downloaded the downloader several times, checked for updates etc etc. Kinda bums me out but screw it.
Steam can really screw things up sometimes.
__________________
Last.fm

Raptr

"Man could hold the universe in his palm, if only he could learn to unclench his fist."
OriginalJoeCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 06:54 AM   #14
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

I couldnt help but post this now....

I no longer know the meaning of this thing you call lag.... I wanna live in mah data center!


Well my websites file speeds wont suck anymore.... now if I can just get this in my house oh and ST:O to freakin work lol
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-24-2012 at 07:33 AM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:00 AM   #15
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

What is this MB/s you speak of, I get 440KB/s on a GOOD day... and by day i mean 3 in the morning on a weekend. And you moaning about a 250GB datacap? HAH to you i say, try 60GB. And no, I don't get a choice, like it or lump it on ADSL, screw your DSL, ours is A grade DSL... I don't need more bandwidth or speed, the internet just needs better compression...

I'm not bitter or anything... I just want to brutally bludgeon every telecom company with a 72lbs jack-hammer, is that too mush to ask?

-------

With STO, is there a repair function? It may save downloading the whole thing again; but to be honest that's not likely the issue. It's often some third-party app screwing with things (Anti Virus is often the culprit). Other things will also include the usually drivel of driver, drivers, drivers... and DirectX.
__________________
PSU: Corsair 1000HX - Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI Full Tower - CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @3.8GHz - Cooler: Thermaltake FRIO - Motherboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth - Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic 1600 - GPU: 2x AMD Radeon HD 5870 - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 6Gb/s +1TB +2TB storage - Audio: ODAC + O2 Amp, ASUS Xonar DX
K/B: Corsair K90 - Mouse: ROCCAT KONE XTD - Monitor: DELL U2410 - Speakers: Corsair SP2500 - Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 - Mic: Blue Yeti USB Microphone

- I need Fiber to fix my Irregular Bandwidth Syndrome -
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Star Wars: The Old Republic Allows Free-To-Play Option This Fall Tharic-Nar Gaming 4 08-05-2012 05:54 AM
Star Trek's Enterprise-D in Minecraft Rob Williams Gaming 1 10-01-2010 08:07 AM
Modern Warfare 2 online play Rob Williams Gaming 3 07-15-2010 05:18 AM
Pay to Play: Uncovering Online Payola Rob Williams Off Topic 3 06-13-2007 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.