Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Video Cards and Displays

Video Cards and Displays AMD, NVIDIA graphics card talk, as well as monitor/HDTV discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2012, 12:42 PM   #1
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default New video card recommendations?

Hey guys, long time lurker but I'm always on the site, really good articles. Anyway, my computer was once a mighty behemoth, able to take anything I could throw at it. Unfortunately those days are long gone. I have an Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC'd slightly to 3.2 GHz, 4 gigs ram, and an Nvidia Geforce GTS 250. I used to have 2 Geforce 8800 GTX's in SLI, but both burned up so I settled for the GTS.

So now I'm looking for a replacement video card. I have full intentions of building a new system in the next couple of years, ideally when the next generation of consoles come out. But I probably have another few years left in my system. I'm pretty sure the limiting factor is my video card. I do a wide variety of gaming, most major releases I purchase after a few months when the price goes down. I do not do a lot of online gaming, very rarely if ever.

Anyway I've been eyeballing the Geforce 560 series. I've seen a few cards a little at, below or over $200. Price isn't too big of an issue, but I don't want to buy a card that will be too much for the system. I play on a small monitor right now, one with a native resolution of 1440x600, but I may buy a bigger one soon as well, one in the 27 to 30 inch range. I also like to max out settings when possible. What do you guys think? Is that card too much for my system? I really don't want to upgrade anything else since I will be getting rid of this system in a few years.

Also, I'm sticking with Nvidia. No ATI. Nothing against ATI, but I've been a Nvidia fan ever since they bought out 3dfx, and have owned 6 cards since then. So I have no intentions on switching now. Same thing with Intel, I've never owned an AMD personally and will never own one. I've always been Intel since day one. Just my thing. Sorry to rant too btw.
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:59 PM   #2
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

the GTX560 Ti is a good choice!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:23 PM   #3
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default

So you don't think that card would be hampered by the rest of my system? I know I've got a decent system, but I know the older Quad chips are pretty outdated now. Plus only having 4 gigs of ram is kinda low now too, but I really don't want to dump a lot into a system thats going to be tossed to the curb soon. I'm also running a duel boot of Vista and XP, I wanted to toss that out there since I've heard 7 is better for gaming.
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:04 PM   #4
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

A 560 is overkill for a resolution of 1440x900, but not a bad choice either (you'll be able to turn up the AA settings now), it'll effectively remove a bottleneck and could be used in the next system till you acquire more funds. I know for a lot of online games, the Core 2 series are begging to show their age, it's not horrific, but certain games are becoming a little too liberal with their processing while still being strapped to 2 threads. Run-away physics is what causes a number of problems in non-mmo games.

Dumping Vista for Win7 would be a good idea too, you'll regain some ram, as well as some better memory management, but it's not a terrible OS. XP is losing favor for a lot of games now, even with companies going so far as to reduce time spent optimising for XP (The demographic is ever shrinking, plus you forego a lot of modern software advances that do not work under XP).

4GB of ram is fine, so long as it's under a 64-bit OS. Some of the 560s have 2GB or RAM, that effectively removes 2GB of system RAM under 32-bit, and Vista is a bit of a Hog with RAM.

NVIDIA is due some new cards out at some point soon, though it'll likely open with the higher end cards, don't know for certain. So prices may drop soon enough.
__________________
PSU: Corsair 1000HX - Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI Full Tower - CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @3.8GHz - Cooler: Thermaltake FRIO - Motherboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth - Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic 1600 - GPU: 2x AMD Radeon HD 5870 - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 6Gb/s +1TB +2TB storage - Audio: ODAC + O2 Amp, ASUS Xonar DX
K/B: Corsair K90 - Mouse: ROCCAT KONE XTD - Monitor: DELL U2410 - Speakers: Corsair SP2500 - Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 - Mic: Blue Yeti USB Microphone

- I need Fiber to fix my Irregular Bandwidth Syndrome -
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:50 PM   #5
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks for the replies. I've cought wind the 600 series are slated to be released soon, so I might pick up a 560 when they do come out. I'm going to hold off on upgrading to 7 for now, and I am running a 64 bit Vista, I only keep XP around for those older games that don't quite want to run properly on Vista, and for nostalgic reasons. I just wanted something that could hold me over for about another year or 2.
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:58 AM   #6
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doomsday View Post
the GTX560 Ti is a good choice!
Of course he never said whether he was eyeballing a 560 or a 560 Ti. Depending on the game and at that resolution either would be fine.
__________________
Desktop i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 | Seasonic X750
MSI GTX570 TF III @ 950/1900/2300 | 2TB 5900 + 2X320GB 7200 RAID0 |
Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Laptop ASUS G50VT | Core2Duo T9600 @ 3.3Ghz | 9800M GS/GTS @ 650/1625/900
Phone Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch | CyanogenMod 9 (Nightly 6/20) | FF11 Kernel | FF18 Modem
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:18 AM   #7
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Actually I've been eyeballing all the 560's, the Ti seems to carry a slightly higher premium, and I've seen 2 gb versions. Would it benefit me to splurge on the 2 gb version over the others? My GTS is 1 gb right now.
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 02:57 PM   #8
Brett Thomas
Senior Editor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zacharyt1122 View Post
Actually I've been eyeballing all the 560's, the Ti seems to carry a slightly higher premium, and I've seen 2 gb versions. Would it benefit me to splurge on the 2 gb version over the others? My GTS is 1 gb right now.
The main benefit to the 2GB on board is mostly larger textures and a bit for AA (though throughput matters more for that) - playing at 1440x will not really require all of that, I don't *think*. To give you an idea, I run a GTX560 w/1GB of RAM on a 22" monitor (1650x resolution) and am able to run at pretty much max settings for all games I play, including Deus Ex 3 and Skyrim.

Above all, it will depend on the cost and your potential upgrade path. I'm not a fan of SLI and I personally believe a lot of the top-line cards are overkill for what most people want to do and end up just as obsolete by the time you could actually stress them, so bear that in mind. But unless your next monitor move is going up to 1950x1200, I don't think 2GB is even necessary.

Personally, if the difference between the cards is <$20, I'll take the extra RAM - the GTX560 is hardly maxed out by most games at lower resolutions and having the extra bit might keep you from needing one more thing to buy as you upgrade your system later. Is it a touch overkill? Maybe, but it's also not a waste of money (as it will likely hang around for you to upgrade other things) and you'll possibly need it if that very next upgrade is a 24"+ monitor.

HTH, but keep in mind I'm probably the LEAST gear-centric of our staff which means I also know the least about the limitations of my suggestion. I just know that a 1GB 560 works great for me at a resolution one step up from yours, and I'd probably want the 2GB if I went up one step above that. ;-)
Brett Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:17 AM   #9
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

I'm with Brett and Doomsday. The 560 Ti would probably be a better choice since you get another gig of ram for around $20. As for your older CPU being a bottleneck, I wouldn't worry about it unless you tried to get something like a GTX 580 running max @ 1080p or above. My clan leader is running dual GTX 460SE with a Q2Q and he nearly maxes out BF3 @ 1080p and it's playable.

I myself used to be an AMD fanboy until my 955 Black Edition became a bottleneck for BF3 when I tried to record. I'd get ~35 - 40FPS maxed at 1440 x 900, and when I engaged FRAPS that dropped to ~15. I dumped the AMD chip for an i5-2500k and I never went back. Also got an AMD HD 6970 and I can play anything (and I mean that) maxed out on my tv @ 1080p very smoothly. Now I get 50-60fps on BF3, and when I engage FRAPS that only drops ~5fps
__________________

Intel Core i5-2500k @ 3.3GHz
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Corsair XMS 1600 8GB (2 x 4GB)
XFX Radeon HD 6970
Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W
Corsair H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Professional (x64)
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:48 PM   #10
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

He said he'll be moving to a bigger screen, so the GTX560 Ti would be a good choice!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:33 PM   #11
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Not just that, but even on a 1440x900 screen the 560 Ti may pay off sometime in the near future, as games become more demanding; especially concerning the quite possible widespread adoption of tessellation.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:09 PM   #12
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Wow guys good advice! I appreciate it all. I think i might go with a 2 gb 560 ti, and if the framerates are good enough I might just hold out on a new system for a little longer. Plus that'll be reason to get a bigger monitor until then! So any recommendations for a good monitor?
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 12:19 AM   #13
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

You said 27" to 30" right? Here's a good one. ASUS makes some of the best monitors out there:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824236091

And if you wanna go the 3D route (MUCH pricier), this one is great:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824236206
__________________

Intel Core i5-2500k @ 3.3GHz
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Corsair XMS 1600 8GB (2 x 4GB)
XFX Radeon HD 6970
Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W
Corsair H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Professional (x64)

Last edited by TheCrimsonStar; 03-15-2012 at 12:22 AM.
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:43 AM   #14
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

What Crimson said.. A freind of mine recently bought that 3D Asus model and man its Awesome! Still, i'll go for the non 3D one. The extra price on the 3D is waaay too much. Hope the non 3D one becomes available here asap!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:23 PM   #15
zacharyt1122
Obliviot
 
zacharyt1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Default

That looks perfect! I'm skipping the 3D thing for now, I haven't liked it too much when I played with it last. It'll take time for me to make the jump to 3D, but I'm not going to adopt it until its a lot more mainstream.
zacharyt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card power requirments Psi* Video Cards and Displays 1 12-01-2009 02:14 PM
How much is too much for a video card? LOOP Video Cards and Displays 43 09-28-2007 12:57 AM
Video Card Help Jen McPherson Video Cards and Displays 6 09-25-2006 12:25 AM
Upgrading my video card. leecho7 Video Cards and Displays 6 07-12-2006 12:43 AM
Show off your video card! Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 49 03-25-2006 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.